- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Wideman out for Monday matinee against Avalanche

Posted By Joe Haggerty On October 12, 2009 @ 12:31 pm In General | No Comments

Boston Bruins [1] defenseman Dennis Wideman [2] will miss Monday afternoon’s game with a left shoulder injury sustained during Saturday night’s game against the New York Islanders [3]. Wideman hit the boards awkwardly in the third period of the shootout win over the Isles, and B’s head coach Claude Julien [4] termed the blueliner “day-to-day” prior to Monday’s matinee against the Colorado Avalanche [5]. Johnny Boychuk [6] was a healthy scratch for the first four games of the season, but will dress and play in Wideman’s place in Monday’s lineup.

“It’s not a long-term injury and it’s being evaluated every day,” said Julien. “If he practices then it’s a good sign for Friday, so we’re going to evaluate him as we move on here. It’s nothing more than a day-to-day situation.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/12/wideman-out-for-monday-matinee-against-avalanche/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[2] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[3] New York Islanders: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-islanders.htm

[4] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[5] Colorado Avalanche: http://media.weei.com/hockey/colorado-avalanche.htm

[6] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[7] > Wideman out for Monday matinee against Avalanche" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/12/wideman-out-for-monday-matinee-against-avalanche/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.