- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

B’s pregame notes versus Oilers

Posted By Joe Haggerty On October 31, 2009 @ 11:24 am In General | No Comments

Here are a few quick tidbits to get everyone ready for the Saturday afternoon matinee between the Bruins and the Edmonton Oilers [1]. The Oil are coming off a wild 6-5 shootout win over the Detroit Red Wings [2] Thursday night and Dustin Penner already has five multi-point games this season. The key to Penner’s turnaround: dropping some extra weight this summer and shedding the doghouse he was locked in [3]under former Oilers head coach Craig MacTavish.

–B’s defenseman Dennis Wideman [4] is scoreless in his last five games, but played pretty solidly against the New Jersey Devils [5] Thursday night. He’s a candidate for a breakout game against Edmonton.

Michael Ryder [6] will be playing in his 400th career game with the Bruins Saturday afternoon.

–Saturday afternoon’s tilt against the Western Conference Oilers touches off a 15 games in 29 days stretch thanks to the Winter Olympics-ified NHL [7] schedule, and hands the B’s a pretty hefty challenge that will slowly gnaw away at their roster depth. The key, according to head coach coach Claude Julien [8], is building some momentum along the way. That momentum starts on Saturday afternoon, when the Bruins go on a mini-stretch of fives games in eight days.

“You’ve got to build some consistency and some momentum. You hope that you stay healthy through this stuff,” said Julien. “As a coaching staff, we need to know when to push on the gas pedal and when to back off. We need to make sure we keep getting better. We’ve had our rest. We’ve had our days. We need to make sure that when it comes time for game time that we’re ready to go.” 

–No word yet on the starting goaltender, but it wouldn’t be a shock to see Tuukka Rask [9] get the start after Tim Thomas [10] started five of the last six games.

–A few trends with the Oilers: Edmonton is 1-3 overall on the road this season and sits at 1-4 when they allow the first goal in games this season.

–Penner is coming off a one goal, three assist performance against the Wings Thursday night and is averaging nearly two points a game with 7 goals, 9 assists in his last nine games.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/31/bs-pregame-notes-versus-oilers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Edmonton Oilers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/edmonton-oilers.htm

[2] Detroit Red Wings: http://media.weei.com/hockey/detroit-red-wings.htm

[3] shedding the doghouse he was locked in : http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/blog/puck_daddy/post/Penner-takes-advantage-of-clean-slate-in-Edmonto?urn=nhl,199369

[4] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[5] New Jersey Devils: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-jersey-devils.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[8] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[9] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[10] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[11] > B’s pregame notes versus Oilers" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/10/31/bs-pregame-notes-versus-oilers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.