- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

B’s searching for scoring against the Rags

Posted By Joe Haggerty On November 1, 2009 @ 4:54 pm In General | 5 Comments

Did you hear the one about the Bruins power play?

No, there’s no punchline. It’s just that Boston’s toothless man advantage is one of the biggest jokes currently running in the Eastern Conference. The Black and Gold power play unit squandered five different opportunities against a feisty New York Rangers [1] defense and All-Star goaltender Henrik Lundqvist [2], and the B’s fell by a 1-0 score to the Blueshirts [3]Sunday afternoon at Madison Square Garden.

The Bruins outshot the Rags 14-6 in the third period and 29-23 over the course of 60 minutes, and outhit the Rangers by a 41-28 margin in a game where the Black and Gold clearly paid the price. The biggest difference between the two teams were glaring, however.

Rangers sniper Marian Gaborik provided the only goal of the game in the final minutes of the second period on a pure goal-scorer’s strike from the high slot, and the B’s just couldn’t capitalize on five frittered away power play chances. The biggest disappointment for the team is simply how well they’re playing in just about every other area of the game, but they just don’t have any elite goal-scorers.

Everything earned offensively is going to through gallons of sweat and hard work in front of the net. Goals simply aren’t going to sometimes come easily as they did last season when the B’s were the second-best offense in the NHL [4]. The Bruins now sit 28th in the NHL [5] with a power play that’s scoring only 12.2 percent of the time, and taking out their blowout against the Carolina Hurricanes [6] makes things only more gruesome in these post-Halloween days. 

It’s almost fitting that Boston’s scoring fits are coming in the same week that Phil Kessel [7] is expected to make his debut with the Toronto Maple Leafs [8], and give their woebegone franchise the scoring transfusion that the B’s seem to badly need after the season’s first month. Patrice Bergeron [9] and Blake Wheeler [10] share the B’s lead in goal-scoring with four apiece, and Boston needs to do much better if they hope to escape a .500 fate that seems all too realistic 13 games into the season.

YOU’RE THE BEST AROUND, NOTHING’S EVER GONNA KEEP YOU DOWN:Brad Marchand [11] played a physical spark plug game for the Bruins, and finished with five shots on net and three registered hits in 17:18 of action. His open ice flying shoulder hit on fellow rookie Michael DelZotto was exactly what the B’s could use more of. Mark Recchi [12] was also a strong presence around the net in the third period when Boston was trying to force overtime and secure a point. 

GOAT HORNS:Ummm, power play anyone? No offense, but no offense. This is becoming a serious flaw within the hockey team, and one has to hope it’s not a fatal flaw for this season.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/01/bs-searching-for-scoring-against-the-rags/

URLs in this post:

[1] New York Rangers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-rangers.htm

[2] Henrik Lundqvist: http://media.weei.com/hockey/henrik-lundqvist.htm

[3] B’s fell by a 1-0 score to the Blueshirts : http://weei.stats.com/nhl/recap.asp?g=2009110113&home=13&vis=1

[4] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[6] Carolina Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carolina-hurricanes.htm

[7] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[8] Toronto Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[9] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[10] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[11] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[12] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[13] > B’s searching for scoring against the Rags" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/01/bs-searching-for-scoring-against-the-rags/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.