- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins lock up another young asset in Rask

Posted By Joe Haggerty On November 5, 2009 @ 6:44 pm In General | 1 Comment

Bruins general manager Peter Chiarelli had a bright young hockey asset taken from him last summer when Toronto leveraged the threat of a contract offer sheet into a trade for Phil Kessel [1] just prior to the season’€™s start.

 

Give the B’€™s GM full marks for not letting that happen again as he locked up another talented youngster in Tuukka Rask [2] to a two-year contract extension that will take the Finnish netminder through the 2011-2012 season. Reports have the salary pinned between $2.6-2.8 million overall with a cap hit in the $1.35 million neighborhood, but exact figures haven’€™t yet been unearthed.

 

The 22-year-old was set to become a restricted free agent following the current season, but ‘€“ along with Milan Lucic [3] ‘€“ Chiarelli made the determination to keep his prized youngster away from potentially damaging offer sheets.

 

‘€œI guess you’€™ve got to change with the times,’€ said Chiarelli about getting more proactive toward locking up players mid-season, particularly younger players with expiring rookie contracts. ‘€œTo a certain degree I went through it this summer with Phil [Kessel] and Toronto and I have to consider that. I have to put that into the equation now.’€

 

Rask is 2-1-1 in four games with a 2.41 goals against average and a .915 save percentage, and has already flashed the kind of cool, calm collected style between the pipes that’€™s made him one of the best goaltending prospects in the world.

 

The Bruins still have restricted free agents Blake Wheeler [4] and Mark Stuart [5] to contend with following this season as well as an organizationally important negotiation with unrestricted free agent Marc Savard [6]. Tying up Rask allows Chiarelli to concentrate on other matters at hand with his goaltending completely covered for the next three seasons.

 

–The picture cleared a little bit more for swine-flu ridden center David Krejci [7], who will miss at least two games while recovering from a bout with the H1N1 virus diagnosed on Thursday. Krejci will be away from the ice for at least the next 3-5 days in quarantine, and might miss a third game when the Bruins taken on the Penguins [8] next Tuesday night at TD Garden.

 

‘€œHe had a raspy throat and it kind of sunk it into his chest and that’€™s when they brought him to get it diagnosed. [He'€™ll be] 3-5 days in quarantine, so he’€™ll spend that time at home in quarantine.’€


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/05/bruins-lock-up-another-young-asset-in-rask/

URLs in this post:

[1] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[5] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[6] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[9] > Bruins lock up another young asset in Rask" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/05/bruins-lock-up-another-young-asset-in-rask/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.