- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bitz is back to practice with the B’s

Posted By Joe Haggerty On November 6, 2009 @ 12:53 pm In General | 3 Comments

WILMINGTON, Mass. ‘€“ The good news: Byron Bitz was back on the ice with the rest of the team practicing Friday morning after missing three games with a strained groin muscle. This also means that Bitz ‘€“ David Krejci [1]‘€™s roommate on road trips ‘€“ hasn’€™t succumbed to the H1N1 virus that felled the 23-year-old playmaking pivot earlier this week.

The bad news: the Bruins are still mired in an offensive funk without the services of Marc Savard [2] and Milan Lucic [3].

Bitz skated on a right wing with Trent Whitfield and Shawn Thornton [4] during practice at Ristuccia Arena, and rookie Mikko Lehtonen was also still with the team practicing as the 13th forward.

If Bitz is healthy enough to play Saturday against the NHL [5]‘€™s stingiest defense in the Buffalo Sabres [6] ‘€“ allowing a league-best 24 goals this season, six better than the next-best team ‘€“ then the emergency call-up will likely be returned to the Providence Bruins.

Here are today’€™s lines from practice:

Marco Sturm [7] ‘€“ Patrice Bergeron [8] ‘€“ Mark Recchi [9]
Blake Wheeler [10] ‘€“ Vladimir Sobotka ‘€“ Michael Ryder [11]
Daniel Paille [12] ‘€“ Steve Begin ‘€“ Brad Marchand [13]
Shawn Thornton ‘€“ Trent Whitfield ‘€“ Byron Bitz/Mikko Lehtonen

We’ll have more in a bit.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/06/bitz-is-back-to-practice-with-the-bs/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Buffalo Sabres: http://media.weei.com/hockey/buffalo-sabres.htm

[7] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[10] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[11] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[12] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[13] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[14] > Bitz is back to practice with the B’s" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/06/bitz-is-back-to-practice-with-the-bs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.