- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Turn up the volume: no one will feel sorry for us

Posted By Mike Petraglia On November 6, 2009 @ 2:05 am In General | 4 Comments

Say this much for Bruins head coach Claude Julien [1] – he’s not looking for sympathy.

In the opening month of the season, he has lost his leading playmaker Marc Savard [2], his leading tough guy in Milan Lucic [3] and now, David Krejci [4], one of his most skilled young forwards has been diagnosed with the H1N1 virus.

Add to that the team’s power play is dead last among the 30 NHL [5] clubs and you have a team that is having a hard time scoring. How hard? Try 192 minutes, six seconds without lighting the lamp between Vladimir Sobotka’s tally on Saturday and Patrice Bergeron’s game-tying goal with 51.7 seconds to go on Thursday.

Still, the Bruins had to settle for just the one point as the trio of Blake Wheeler [6], Bergeron and Mark Recchi [7] could not solve Carey Price [8] in the shootout and fell 2-1 to the Montreal Canadiens [9].

Claude Julien said no one will feel sorry for the Bruins [10].

Julien said Bergeron deserved a star Thursday as Boston’s best player [11].

Montreal’s Carey Price said he could tell Bruins were desperate to score [12].

Tim Thomas said the Bruins couldn’t get discouraged when the Bergeron goal was disallowed in the second period [13].

Patrice Bergeron said the Bruins had to keep going, even after disallowed goal [14].

Bergeron said this is one step forward for the Bruins [15].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/06/turn-up-the-volume-no-one-will-feel-sorry-for-us/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[7] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[8] Carey Price: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carey-price.htm

[9] Montreal Canadiens: http://media.weei.com/hockey/montreal-canadiens.htm

[10] Claude Julien said no one will feel sorry for the Bruins: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=18132

[11] Julien said Bergeron deserved a star Thursday as Boston’s best player: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=18133

[12] Montreal’s Carey Price said he could tell Bruins were desperate to score: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=18134

[13] Tim Thomas said the Bruins couldn’t get discouraged when the Bergeron goal was disallowed in the second period: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=18135

[14] Patrice Bergeron said the Bruins had to keep going, even after disallowed goal: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=18136

[15] Bergeron said this is one step forward for the Bruins: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/?attachment_id=18137

[16] > Turn up the volume: no one will feel sorry for us" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/11/06/turn-up-the-volume-no-one-will-feel-sorry-for-us/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.