- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

B’s set to go against Lightning

Posted By Graig Woodburn On December 1, 2009 @ 1:12 pm In General | No Comments

Wilmington ‘€“ While awaiting formal announcement of a seven-year contract extension for star center Marc Savard [1], the Bruins made their way through practice Tuesday looking to build upon a solid 6-3-1 record over their past ten games.

Savard was not available for comment after practice, but the deal could be announced by the team prior to Wednesday’€™s contest against the Tampa Bay Lightning [2].

As to who will be in the Bruins goal at TD Garden when the puck is dropped against the Lightning is unclear.

Normal starting goalie Tim Thomas [3] returned from a brief hand injury to take a 4-3 shootout win over Ottawa on Saturday. But Thomas showed some rust in his return, yielding a bad angle game-tying goal with 19 seconds to play. Backup Tuukka Rask [4] had excelled during six starts (4-1-1) while Thomas was injured.

‘€œThey’€™re both playing well, so we’€™ll (have to) see who we’€™re putting in,’€ said Bruins coach Claude Julien [5].

‘€œWe’€™ve said many times, the way Tim plays with the energy he puts in, he’€™s not going to play 75 games,’€ continued Julien. ‘€œSo you need someone who can come in replace him at times and be a guy you can rely on. Right now, Tuukka, whether its stats wise or even watching him play,  it’€™s pretty obvious he’€™s playing just as well as Timmy is.’€

For his part Thomas is ready to move past Saturday’€™s uneven return.

‘€œIn any sport, especially if you’€™re playing as often as we are there are going to be times of failure, during those times you have to have a short memory,’€ said Thomas. ‘€œYou have to learn your lesson, if there’€™s a lesson to learn and then you have to move past it.’€

Aside from Milan Lucic [6], who will be sidelined for 3-4 more weeks while recovering from an ankle sprain, the Bruins should have their full roster available Wednesday as Patrice Bergeron [7] and Matt Hunwick both returned to practice Tuesday.

Bergeron was given a maintenance day off Monday, in part to help recover from getting hit in the upper leg while blocking a shot by defenseman Filip Kuba in Saturdays victory over Ottawa.

‘€œI feel fine,’€ said Bergeron, who headed to the Bruins dressing room for a stretch after getting struck. He returned near the end of the period.

‘€œThere’€™s not much fat or skin close to (the area hit) I’€™m pretty happy it didn’€™t get right on the bone,’€ explained Bergeron.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/12/01/bs-set-to-go-against-lightning/

URLs in this post:

[1] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[2] Tampa Bay Lightning: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tampa-bay-lightning.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[5] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[8] > B’s set to go against Lightning" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2009/12/01/bs-set-to-go-against-lightning/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.