- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bergeron back to skating

Posted By Graig Woodburn On January 6, 2010 @ 1:25 pm In General | No Comments

WILMINGTON ‘€“ The Bruins could put together a pretty good lineup with the five players who hit the ice for practice Wednesday. While most of the team was given the day off, Patrice Bergeron [1], Milan Lucic [2], Mark Stuart [3], Adam McQuaid and Tuukka Rask [4] went through varying bits of work on the practice rink.

Bergeron was skating less than 24 hours after being told he had a broken right thumb.

‘€œIt’€™s fine to skate and workout, I just can’€™t move my thumb for ten days,’€ said Bergeron, who had a molded splint around the thumb. ‘€œI’€™m going to keep in game shape, keep working out, keep staying strong. The only thing is I’€™m not going to be able to pass and shoot, that’€™s about it.’€

Bergeron suffered the injury when struck by a shot in the second period of Monday’€™s 3-2 loss to the Rangers in New York. He was glad to learn the injury was not more severe.

‘€œI didn’€™t know what to expect, the doctor gave me some good news so I was pretty happy,’€ said Bergeron, who leads the Bruins in scoring. He was also recently selected to skate for the Canadian Olympic team at the Winter Olympics in February. The thumb injury should not impact his ability to play for Canada.

With Bergeron out of the lineup Tuesday, the Bruins put together a quick-strike attack leading to a 4-1 win in Ottawa. They’€™ll face a major test in their next contest, hosting the league leading Chicago Blackhawks [5] Thursday.

The Blackhawks have won four in a row and seven of their last eight games while taking over the overall standings points lead in the league. Chicago also has the best team GGA (2.01) average in the NHL [6].

‘€œThey’€™re arguably the best team in the league right now, they have so much depth and talent, skill and confidence, they have everything gong this year’€ Bruins coach Claude Julien [7] said. ‘€œI know we have played them well in the past, but this will be a real good challenge for us tomorrow. To win the game we don’€™t have a choice but to be at our best.’€

Julien also indicated that defenseman Andrew Ference [8] was being examined by doctors Wednesday morning. He suffered a lower body injury during the first-period of Tuesday’€™s game. Julien did not have an update at the time he met with reporters.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/06/bergeron-back-to-skating/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[4] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[5] Chicago Blackhawks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chicago-blackhawks.htm

[6] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[7] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[8] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[9] > Bergeron back to skating" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/06/bergeron-back-to-skating/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.