- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Ducks rally past Bruins

Posted By Graig Woodburn On January 14, 2010 @ 12:30 am In General | No Comments

Summary

Ryan Getzlaf and Steve Eminger scored third period goals as the Anaheim Ducks [1] rallied for a 4-3 victory over the Bruins at Honda Center Wednesday. The Bruins entered the third period with a 3-2 lead on goals by Zdeno Chara [2], Matt Hunwick and Marco Sturm [3], but could not shutdown the Ducks attack over the final 20 minutes. Tuukka Rask [4] stopped 28 of 32 shots for Boston, while Jonas Hiller had 27 saves for Anaheim. The B’€™s will continue their three-game California road trip in San Jose Thursday.

Three Stars

Bobby Ryan ‘€“ The Ducks second-year forward created scoring chances all game while assisting on two Anaheim goals, including the game winner.

Mark Recchi [5], ‘€“ With all the young talent on the ice, the oldest player in the league led the Bruins offense, setting up two goals.

Jonas Hiller – Ducks goalie makes 27 saves, leading Anaheim to fifth straight win.

Turning Point

With the Bruins holding a 3-2 lead and working on a power play in the first minute of the third period, Hiller snares a David Krejci [6] shot to keep Anaheim within a goal. A minute later, Getzlaf ties the game.

Key Play

Looking to break a 3-3 tie,  defenseman Eminger moved in from the point and was perfectly positioned to swipe in a rebound of a Ryan shot giving the Ducks the lead with 11:53 to play.

Question Mark

Defenseman Mark Stuart [7] (sternum) is close to returning to action, but is likely to do so in LA Saturday rather than San Jose Thursday. Center Patrice Bergeron [8] (broken thumb) is also getting closer to getting back, although Monday’€™s matinee against Ottawa is probably the earliest he will see game action.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/14/ducks-rally-past-bruins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Anaheim Ducks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/anaheim-ducks.htm

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[4] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[7] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] > Ducks rally past Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/14/ducks-rally-past-bruins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.