- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Begin, Bitz and Sturm all out against Sens

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 18, 2010 @ 12:46 pm In General | No Comments

The short-handed Bruins will be without forwards Steve Begin, Byron Bitz and Marco Sturm [1] for their matinee clash with the Ottawa Senators [2] at TD Garden. Both are out with undisclosed injuries.

The team, already without Marc Savard [3] and Andrew Ference [4], could get a boost with the return of center Patrice Bergeron [5] and defenseman Dennis Wideman [6].

Bergeron has been out for six games with a broken thumb while Wideman returns after an undisclosed injury.

“I think the doctors had a chat with him and he wants to give it a try,” head coach Claude Julien [7] said pregame of Bergeron’s desire to return Monday. “He’s been practicing now for a week.”

As for Bitz, Julien was a little more cryptic.

“Actually, it’s something new,” the coach said. “We’re a little banged up, but we’re grinding through and again, don’t make excuses.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/18/begin-bitz-and-sturm-all-out-against-sens/

URLs in this post:

[1] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[2] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[5] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[6] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[7] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[8] > Begin, Bitz and Sturm all out against Sens" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/18/begin-bitz-and-sturm-all-out-against-sens/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.