- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins lose another to Senators

Posted By Dan Rowinski On January 23, 2010 @ 3:55 pm In General | No Comments

Summary — The Senators completed a sweeps week against the Bruins with another victory at TD Garden, 2-1 over in this Saturday’s matinee. Daniel Alfredsson [1] scored Ottawa’s first goal and Jason Spezza had the game winner in the second period. Tim Thomas [2] took his second loss of the week at the hands of the Senators though he played better than Monday when he was pulled from the game in favor or Tuukka Rask [3].

Daniel Paille [4] scored the Bruins only goal in the second period with a blast from the left wing over Elliot’s glove shoulder to tie the game. The goal was the forward’s seventh of the season.

The Bruins have not won a game in the Garden during the entire month of January (they did when at Fenway) and continue to struggle to score goals without Marc Savard [5] and Marco Sturm [6]. Byron Bitz and Steve Begin also missed the game. None of the four will travel to Carolina to take on the Hurricanes tomorrow night as the Bruins will not have ice time before the game.

Boston is now six points behind Ottawa for second place in the Northeast Division.

Three Stars

Brian Elliott — Ottawa’s goalie was solid in stopping 32 of shots and his team outscored the Bruins 7-2 on the week.

Daniel Alfredsson — In two games this week, Alfredsson has outscored the Bruins 4-2 and been a general menace in the TD Garden. The wingman has six goals and four assists for Ottawa in his last 12 games since coming back from an injury.

Daniel Paille — The wingman skated hard and provided the only spark of offense for the Bruins in another frustrating offensive performance.

Turning Point

For the second game in a row the play hinged not on a goal that was scored, but one that was not. After killing an Ottawa penalty it looked like the Bruins had taken a 2-1 lead late in the second period when Mark Recchi [7] crashed the net and appeared to knock the puck past Brian Elliot. The play was reviewed and determined that Recchi kicked the puck (which ricocheted of Elliot’s skate). About a minute later Spezza scored the go-ahead goal and the Senators did not look back.

Key Play

Jason Spezza was questionable coming into Saturday’s game and the Bruins probably wish that he had delayed his comeback from injury for at least another day. He scored the game winner at 16:39 in the second period and the goal took away any momentum the Bruins had mustered. Spezza was fed in the center of the offensive zone from Alex Kovalev and let out a wily wrist shot that Thomas was able to see and follow, but could not corale.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/23/bruins-lose-another-to-senators/

URLs in this post:

[1] Daniel Alfredsson: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-alfredsson.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[6] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[7] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[8] > Bruins lose another to Senators" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/01/23/bruins-lose-another-to-senators/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.