- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Canucks cut lead

Posted By Dan Rowinski On February 6, 2010 @ 2:43 pm In General | No Comments

Boston kept the Canucks defensive in the second period by getting on the power play early. Vancouver forward Mason Raymond [1] went to the box for a delay-of-game call at 1:58 and was joined by Henrik Sedin [2] for a slash at 3:50. The Bruins had opportunities in front of Roberto Luongo [3] but could not bury the puck that would give them a 3-0 advantage.

The Bruins would pay for it later in the period when Raymond was fed off the back wall by Ryan Kesler [4]. Raymond handled the puck and took two steps left before putting it passed Tuukka Rask [5] at 8:51.

Boston took two penalties in the period but were able to kill them both. The first was a trip against Michel Ryder at 5:36 and the second interference against Zdeno Chara [6] at 10:12. The Bruins had a couple more opportunities on the power play when Canucks defenseman Shane O’Brien interfered with Bruins forward Mark Recchi [7] (really, he checked him into the back of the net behind Luongo) but the Canucks were able to earn the kill.

Bruins still lead, 2-1 at the end of two.

Shots:

Bruins — 25

Canucks — 12


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/02/06/canucks-cut-lead/

URLs in this post:

[1] Mason Raymond: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mason-raymond.htm

[2] Henrik Sedin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/henrik-sedin.htm

[3] Roberto Luongo: http://media.weei.com/hockey/roberto-luongo.htm

[4] Ryan Kesler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-kesler.htm

[5] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[8] > Canucks cut lead" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/02/06/canucks-cut-lead/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.