- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bergy back but out with groin

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 2, 2010 @ 11:51 am In General | No Comments

Patrice Bergeron [1] arrived back in Boston and rejoined his Bruins teammates at TD Garden on Tuesday but did not take part in the pregame skate and will not play Tuesday night due to a groin injury.

Bergeron, a member of the Canadian gold medal champion squad, said he initially suffered the injury early in the Olympic hockey tournament and aggravated it in the Gold Medal game.

“I don’t think I’ll be playing tonight,” Bergeron said. “I pulled my groin in the first week of the tournament and it was fine and then the last game it kind of got a little worse. It should be fine but it’s day-to-day and tonight I don’t think I’ll be going.”

All of the other Olympians were on hand for the Bruins skate, including Tim Thomas [2], Zdeno Chara [3], Miroslav Satan, David Krejci [4] and Marco Sturm [5]. Bruins coach Claude Julien [6] said he doesn’t expect to limit their minutes because of their participation in the tournament.

The Bruins return to action tonight against Montreal at TD Garden at 7 p.m. The Bruins, with 65 points, stand in 7th place in the Eastern Conference, one point ahead of the eight-place Canadiens.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/02/bergy-back-but-out-with-groin/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[6] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[7] > Bergy back but out with groin" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/02/bergy-back-but-out-with-groin/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.