- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Second period summary: Bruins-Penguins

Posted By Dan Rowinski On March 7, 2010 @ 4:35 pm In General | 1 Comment

With the Penguins [1] handing the Bruins multiple opportunities with penalties, it was just a matter of time before Boston broke through.

Evgeni Malkin won the dubious distinction of being the man who committed the penalty (hooking – 2:15) that helped get the Bruins on the board. David Krejci [2] put the puck in the crease and banged on it to the point that Marc-Andre Fleury [3] fell flat on his stomach though not quite on top of the puck. Blake Wheeler [4] then snuck in and swept the puck out from under the goaltender for his 14th goal of the season that gave Boston a 1-0 lead at 3:12.

The Penguins came back in 5-0n-5 at 8:57 in a similar scenario to Wheeler’s goal. Pascal Dupuis swept around the goal only to be semi-stuffed by Tim Thomas [5] but the forward stayed on the puck and it trickled passed Thomas to tie the game at one apiece.

Michael Ryder [6] took a slashing penalty at 3:43 in the period but Boston was able to kill it off. In the middle of the period the teams played two-minutes of 4-on-4 as Ruslan Fedotenko and Mark Stuart [7] got in a tangle in the crease in front of Thomas that led to matching roughing penalties.

Shots in period (total):

Boston — 8 (11)

Pittsburgh — 11 (21)


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/07/second-period-summary-bruins-penguins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[2] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[3] Marc-Andre Fleury: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-andre-fleury.htm

[4] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[8] > Second period summary: Bruins-Penguins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/07/second-period-summary-bruins-penguins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.