- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Second period summary: Bruins-Flyers

Posted By Dan Rowinski On March 11, 2010 @ 8:40 pm In General | No Comments

The pattern continues …

Or does it?

The Flyers did not waste anytime mounting their comeback from a goal back. Bruins defenseman Dennis Seidenberg [1] went to the box 40 seconds into the second period for boarding. The ensuing faceoff came in Boston’s zone and Flyers’ sharp shooter Jeff Carter [2] found the puck on the left circle for a one-timer that beat Tuukka Rask [3] at :44.

The Bruins went back up, just like they did numerous times against Toronto on Tuesday. Patrice Bergeron [4] found Mark Recchi [5] closing in on Michael Leighton from the left wing on the rush. Leighton went down for the shot, Recchi went up and it was 2-1 at 4:37.

This is where the pattern breaks.

Whereas in against the Maple Leafs [6] the Bruins kept on letting Toronto come back, the Bruins are burying Leighton and the Flyers heading into the third. The lead burgeoned from one to three by the 11:16 mark when David Krejci [7] got his second point of the night after a feed from Blake Wheeler [8] and Michael Ryder [9].

Really, the equation has looked simple. Get in front of Leighton and try to make a play. The third goal was a rebound put back by Patrice Bergeron off a heavy shot from the point by Matt Hunwick at 10:30. Krejci’s goal was a matter of sitting in front of Leighton, getting the puck, waiting a half-second to let Leighton get himself out of position and depositing the puck to the scoring bank.

The game heads to the third with a 4-1 score in Boston’s favor.

Shots through second period (total):

Bruins — 14 (27)

Flyers -16 (23)


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/11/second-period-summary-bruins-flyers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[2] Jeff Carter: http://media.weei.com/hockey/jeff-carter.htm

[3] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[9] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[10] > Second period summary: Bruins-Flyers" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/11/second-period-summary-bruins-flyers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.