- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Second period summary: Bruins-Canadiens

Posted By Dan Rowinski On March 13, 2010 @ 8:50 pm In General | 6 Comments

The second period started off much better for fans of the Black and Gold.

The Bruins cut the 2-0 lead in half within the first two minutes of the frame. David Krejci [1] started an odd-man break by feeding a rushing Michael Ryder [2] who flew down the left wing and waited just long enough on his way to the goal line to that when he sent a backhand pass back at the crease that Blake Wheeler [3] got an easy tip passed Jaroslav Halak to make it 2-1 at 1:12.

The Bruins did their best to give the Habs back the momentum with two penalties through through eight-minutes of the period. Marco Sturm [4] took the first at 3:40 with an inadvertent elbow to the head right in front of the Boston bench. The next penalty was an interference call on Mark Stuart [5], his second penalty of the game, with an interference call at 9:32. Unlike Stuart’s first penalty, the Habs were not able to score due to some quality goaltending by Tuukka Rask [6] and the smart killing of forwards Daniel Paille [7] and Steve Begin.

The teams played two minutes of 4-on-4 after Canadiens’ forward Andrei Kostitsyn had an interference penalty with a little bit of late hit that Milan Lucic [8] took exception to and went after Kostitsyn after the play, washing a glove in his face to take a roughing penalty at 2:36. With nine-seconds left in the 4-on-4 the Habs Josh Gorges took a hooking penalty against Vladimir Sobotka on the rush. It was not much of a penalty but tempers started to rise late in the period between the longtime rivals and the refs look to keep control.

Shots through second (total):

Boston — 5 (11)

Montreal — 9 (16)


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/13/second-period-summary-bruins-canadiens-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[3] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[4] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[5] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[6] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[7] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] > Second period summary: Bruins-Canadiens" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/13/second-period-summary-bruins-canadiens-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.