- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

First period summary: Bruins-Devils

Posted By DJ Bean On March 15, 2010 @ 6:57 pm In General | No Comments

One would think that one team outshooting the other by just one might dictate a close game. Not tonight, as the rout may be on early in Newark, with the Devils leading the Bruins 3-0 after the first period.

After a run of eight consectuive shots from the Bruins, the Devils applied a ton of pressure in the period’s 10th minute that culminated in a goal from Rob Neidermayer at 9:58. The goal came as a result of a tip from a David Clarkson shot. Patrik Elias likely would have made it 2-0 seconds later were it not for his wrister going wide of Thomas’ net. Though the stat sheet would be filled with penalty minutes for much of of the time after, smart goaltending got the Devils back on the board.

David Clarkson took a long pass from Martin Brodeur [1] at center ice and raced up the ice untouched for a breakaway goal at 17:23. It was Brodeur’s third assist of the season.

Seconds later, Parise took a rebound from a Mike Mottau shot and put it past Thomas to give the Devils a 3-0 lead.

But enough about the Bruins’¬†inability¬†to compete at the moment. With the Penguins [2] in town Thursday, much of the focus is on the physical aspect. After Blake Wheeler [3] went off just 52 seconds into the game for hooking, the Bruins’ penalty kill, which entered the night third in the NHL [4], went to work and effectively killed off a Devils power play that consisted of two shots. The highlight of the penalty kill came when Tim Thomas [5] made a nice save through a screen on a shot from the stick of Travis Zajac.

A few minutes later, Dennis Seidenberg [6] stapled Zach Parise [7] in the corner and was retaliated upon by Jamie Langenbrunner, who went off for unsportsmanlike conduct at 5:34. After a shorthanded bid from the Devils, poor puckwork deraliled what dew opportunities the Bruins were able to muster on the power play.

Shortly thereafter Vladimir Sobotka has one of the best opportunities of the period when he was stuffed by Martin Brodeur on a wraparound.

Mark Stuart [8] crushed Jamie Langenbrunner with about six and a half minutes remaining in the period and seconds later was squaring off with Rod Pelley at the blue line. Both went off for fighting at 13:50.

The Devils outshot the Bruins 12-11.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/15/first-period-summary-bruins-devils/

URLs in this post:

[1] Martin Brodeur: http://media.weei.com/hockey/martin-brodeur.htm

[2] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[3] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[4] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[7] Zach Parise: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zach-parise.htm

[8] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[9] > First period summary: Bruins-Devils" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/15/first-period-summary-bruins-devils/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.