- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

First period summary: Bruins-Rangers

Posted By Dan Rowinski On March 21, 2010 @ 12:18 pm In General | No Comments

This is a big one.

In terms of playoff situations, this Sunday’s matinee may be the most important game the Bruins have played this year. The Rangers sit three points behind Boston for the eighth playoff spot and a win would put the Bruins five points ahead with 11 games to play. A New York win would make it a one point lead and make for some very interesting situations in the final two weeks of the regular season.

Boston started the game with some pop and emotion against a Rangers team that is known to be a bit of a physical nuisance. Brandon Prust and Steve Begin got into a scuffle near mid-ice at at 2:40, which was more instigated by Prust than Begin as the Bruins had outshot New York 6-0 at that point.

Zdeno Chara [1] went for a roughing penalty at 4:34 as perpetual instigator Sean Avery [2] was in the area and engaged in a staring match with Vladimir Sobotka who had dropped his stick but Avery deigned to drop his gloves. Less than a minute later the Rangers’ Vinny Prospal hit Mark Stuart [3] hard into the boards behind Tuukka Rask [4]. The Bruins did not like the hit (which sent Prospal for boarding) and a scrum ensued which ultimately sent Stuart to the box as well for roughing.

The referees whistle was busy after that. Mark Recchi [5] (charging — 12:05), Chara (roughing — 12:43), Olli Jokinen (roughing — 12:43), Dennis Wideman [6] (hooking — 13:54) and Artem Anisimov (hooking — 15:29), Jokinen again (hooking — 18:07) all made the march to the timeout corner. Though it all a few scoring chances were generated by each team but neither significant threats and whatever danger that occured near the crease was erased by the two solid goaltenders in Rask and Henrik Lundqvist [7].

Scoreless after the first period at TD Garden.

Shots through one:

Boston — 12

New York — 9


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/21/first-period-summary-bruins-rangers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Sean Avery: http://media.weei.com/hockey/sean-avery.htm

[3] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[4] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[7] Henrik Lundqvist: http://media.weei.com/hockey/henrik-lundqvist.htm

[8] > First period summary: Bruins-Rangers" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/21/first-period-summary-bruins-rangers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.