- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins wary of Thrashers

Posted By Dan Rowinski On March 22, 2010 @ 1:42 pm In General | No Comments

WILMINGTON — Question: Where the heck did the Thrashers come from?

All of a sudden the hockey team from Atlanta is a point behind the Bruins for the eighth playoff spot in the Eastern Conference with a chance to jump Boston if it can win on home ice Tuesday night. This from a team that just about everybody had counted out after they traded one of the best goal scorers in the league in the form of Ilya Kovalchuk [1] to the Devils on Feb. 4.

“Well they picked up some pretty good players along the way,” coach Claude Julien [2] said. “[Clark] Macarthur from Buffalo and obviously in the New Jersey deal they got a pretty good defenseman out of it (Johnny Oduya) who I think is underrated. They have got a pretty good team, they are getting good goaltender right now and I thin they are pretty confident. It is a good challenge for us tomorrow … we know that when we play well and how we can, we are capable of beating any team.”

After losing five our of six to start the month of March, the Thrashers have caught fire of late with four straight wins over Phoenix, Buffalo, Ottawa and Philadelphia. One could say that the Trashers wins over the Flyers and Senators were favors to the Bruins (both teams are three points ahead of Boston with 79 points) but it is a paradox that fans in the Hub would preferably not explore — have a team behind them get hot and take points from the teams ahead only to come and steal their playoff spot.

The win over the Rangers was good for the psyche of the Bruins. Their practice on Monday morning was lively and boisterous, which has not always been the case at Ristuccia in 2010. That being said, New York is not exactly a team burning down the barn.

“Atlanta is more dangerous because Atlanta is playing good,” Tim Thomas [3] said. “New York is just hanging in there and Atlanta has been charging from behind. I think Atlanta will be the bigger test. It is always in our hands we just got to get timely goals like we did against New York and try to keep them off the board as much as possible.”

The Bruins looked like a much different team on Sunday against the Rangers than they did last Thursday in the grudge match verse the Penguins [4]. The mood around the team was quite different from game to game whereas Boston seemed a little tight with all the scrutiny around the Pittsburgh game that was not as present against New York.

“I think Pittsburgh was a little bit of a wake up call,” Johnny Boychuk [5] said. “You got to come out and play. You can’t take any day off especially since we are battling for the playoffs. Last night everybody came to play and we battled and stood up for each other. We just wanted it. That was the difference between both games.”

Thomas admitted that the flu bug was a problem on Thursday and Boychuk said that it had a tough 24-hour effect on a bunch of members of the team.

“We knew they were both important games and we came up big in one and not in the other,” Thomas said. “We had a lot of guys sick against Pittsburgh. You hate to say that plays into it, but it does. Let’s face it, Pittsburgh and New York are two different teams.”

Patrice Bergeron [6] is going out of his way to get in touch with Matt Brown, the Norwood High hockey player who broke his neck in a hockey game in January. Brown is in Atlanta at the Shepard Center for Rehabilitation undergoing treatment.

“I have been through similar stuff and I know it is tough to sometimes stay positive,” Bergeron said. “You get frustrated. It is something that I want to share with him and I am excited to go see him, him and his family. We prepared a little bag of stuff to remind him about Boston a little bit. Some movies, some stuff different professional teams in Boston, some clam chowder and stuff like that. I hope he is going to like it and it is going to be fun to first meet him and see how he is doing.”

Here is the practice participation by sweater color:

White — Milan Lucic [7], Miroslav Satan, Vladimir Sobotka

Grey — Blake Wheeler [8], David Krejci [9], Michael Ryder [10]

Yellow — Patrice Bergeron, Mark Recchi [11], Marco Sturm [12]

Red — Daniel Paille [13], Steve Begin, Shawn Thornton [14], Brad Marchand [15]

Defense — Dennis Wideman [16], Andrew Ference [17], Zdeno Chara [18], Dennis Seidenberg [19], Mark Stuart [20], Matt Hunwick, Johnny Boychuk

Goaltenders — Tuukka Rask [21], Tim Thomas


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/22/bruins-wary-of-thrashers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ilya Kovalchuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ilya-kovalchuk.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[5] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[8] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[9] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[10] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[11] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[12] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[13] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[14] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[15] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[16] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[17] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[18] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[19] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[20] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[21] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[22] > Bruins wary of Thrashers" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/22/bruins-wary-of-thrashers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[23]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.