- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

First period summary: Bruins vs. Devils

Posted By DJ Bean On March 30, 2010 @ 7:45 pm In General | 1 Comment

The first period between the Bruins and Devils at the Prudential Center [1] was highlighted by strong defense and sporadic yet unsuccessful offensive flurries. The Bruins ended the period with a 13-6 shots on goal advantage and had a handful of realistic opportunities against Devils netminder Martin Brodeur [2].

The period featured bookend scoring chances for the Bruins. Mark Stuart [3] rang one off the post just over a minute into the period and Steve Begin was robbed in a scrum in front of the net with two and a half to go in a flurry that also featured a bid from Daniel Paille [4] and Patrice Bergeron [5].

With just under nine minutes to go in the period, Marco Sturm [6] and Mark Recchi [7] were denied of a potential juicy rebound when Brodeur lost his balance saving a wrister from the stick of Dennis Wideman [8] despite a screen from Bergeron.

Each goaltender displayed subpar stickwork with about six and a half minutes remaining in the period. Shortly after Brodeur mishandled the puck in a way reminiscent of the 2003 Stanley Cup [9] Finals, Tuukka Rask [10] was nearly caught playing out the puck out of his net before taking out Dean McAmmond himself.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/30/first-period-summary-bruins-vs-devils/

URLs in this post:

[1] Prudential Center: http://media.weei.com/hockey/prudential-center.htm

[2] Martin Brodeur: http://media.weei.com/hockey/martin-brodeur.htm

[3] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[6] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[7] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[8] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[9] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[10] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[11] > First period summary: Bruins vs. Devils" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/03/30/first-period-summary-bruins-vs-devils/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.