- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Second period summary: Bruins vs. Sabes – Game 2

Posted By Dan Rowinski On April 17, 2010 @ 2:58 pm In General | 1 Comment

Nothing went right for the Bruins in the first period. By the laws of hockey karma, things would have to go well in the second period.

Right?

Entering the period down by two goals and facing a serious possibility of a two-game deficit, Boston clawed its way back into the game and the series. The first goal was the type of fortunate bounce that has not been a frequent occurrence for the Bruins this year. Blake Wheeler [1] cycled the puck from the end wall back up the wing and centered to the high slot where Vladimir Sobotka was waiting with a big stick and a big shot that he boomed towards the crease. Ryan Miller [2] stopped it high off his chest but it bounced straight up in the air and over his shoulder. Michael Ryder [3] crashed the net, stuck his stick into the crease and gave the puck the extra help it need to break the goal line to cut the lead in half at 2:35.

The first goal was a bit of a lucky break. The second was set up by the Bruins most steady player and finished by the captain.

Johnny Boychuk [4], who probably has the second hardest shot on the team after Zdeno Chara [5], wound up for a slap shot from the right point. Patrice Bergeron [6] was set up in the slot in front of Miller and recognized that he had Chara in the deep corner to his right with space. Boychuk’s shot stayed low and Bergeron redirected it with a touch pass straight to the one-timing stick of Chara who buried it at 9:54 to tie the game at two.

The whole period was not perfect for Boston. Milan Lucic [7] went to retrieve the puck on the end wall, lost it off his stick straight to that of Buffalo forward Tyler Ennis who whipped it back in front to Jason Pominville who snapped a shot passed Tuukka Rask [8] at 16:41 to retake the lead.

Through two periods the teams are tied in the shot department at 23.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/04/17/second-period-summary-bruins-vs-sabes-game-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[2] Ryan Miller: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-miller.htm

[3] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[4] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[8] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[9] > Second period summary: Bruins vs. Sabes – Game 2" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/04/17/second-period-summary-bruins-vs-sabes-game-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.