- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

2nd period summary: Bruins vs. Sabres – Game 6

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 26, 2010 @ 8:46 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins are 20 minutes away from heading to the second round of the Stanley Cup [1] playoffs for a second straight year as they lead Buffalo, 2-1, after two periods.

It seemed the Bruins would come out regretting the roughing penalty taken by captain Zdeno Chara [2] at the 20-minute mark of the first period that wiped out a power play to open the second.

Then apparently Buffalo’s Tim Connolly felt bad for Chara and the Bruins as he took an equally puzzling and terribly-timed undisciplined penalty of his own.

Connolly’s cross-checking penalty penalty just 16 seconds in led to a pretty power play goal for the Bruins as David Krejci [3] found Mark Recchi [4] down low to the left of Ryan Miller [5]. Recchi wasted no time with the one-timer that beat Miller for a 2-0 Boston lead just 61 seconds into the second.

With the gold towels going crazy the Bruins seemed to be on the verge of putting away the Sabres.

But after Boston killed its 18th straight penalty in the series, Dennis Wideman [6] turned the puck over in the defensive zone and the Sabres found some new life when Patrick Kaleta scored with just over 13 minutes left in the period to make it 2-1.

The Bruins killed off yet another penalty near the end of the period for too many men on the ice and now are a perfect 19-for-19 in the series.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/04/26/2nd-period-summary-bruins-vs-sabres-game-6/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[5] Ryan Miller: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-miller.htm

[6] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[7] > 2nd period summary: Bruins vs. Sabres – Game 6" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/04/26/2nd-period-summary-bruins-vs-sabres-game-6/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.