- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins slam the door on the Sabres

Posted By Dan Rowinski On April 26, 2010 @ 9:40 pm In General | No Comments

Summary — For the second straight season the Boston Bruins [1] are headed to the Eastern Conference semifinals as they closed out their series against the Sabres with a 4-3 win at TD Garden on Monday night. Tuukka Rask [2] earned the first series-clinching victory of his young career with 27 of saves while Ryan Miller [3] was the loser, allowing four goals on 32 Boston shots.

The Bruins got on the board first with their fifth power play strike of the series. Mark Recchi [4] shot from the right wing with David Krejci [5] in the slot, slightly off-center from Miller. Krejci got enough stick on the puck to change its direction ever so slightly but enough to get it into the net for his second of the series at 13:39. It was the first time in the series that Boston scored the first goal of the game and entered the second period with a lead.

The Bruins took a two-goal lead early in the second period, again on the power play, this time a 4-on-3 with Zdeno Chara [6], Tim Connolly and Henrik Tallinder in the box. Krejci and Recchi were the culprits again, this time switched around as Krejci used the extra space to pick apart the Sabres triangle defense with a cross through the slot to Recchi on Miller’s doorstep for the pop in goal at 1:01.

The Sabres got one back in second period when an aggressive forecheck led to a couple snap passes to Patrick Kaleta wide open in front of Rask. Kaleta flipped it up and Rask had no chance to make it a 2-1 game at 6:34. The strike was Kaleta’s first of the series.

The teams traded goals within a minute of each other midway through the third period. The first was scored by Krejci on a snap shot to the side of Miller’s crease after receiving the puck from behind the goal line at 7:18. Former Boston College [7] product Nathan Gerbe kept Buffalo’s playoff dream alive by bringing the Sabres back within a goal at 7:40 for his first career playoff strike.

Miroslav Satan got the goal back at 14:49 with his second of the playoffs when he beat Miller off a centering pass from Dennis Wideman [8] that deflected off Milan Lucic [9] as he passed through the crease. Thomas Vanek then brought the Sabres back yet again as Buffalo operated for the last two minutes with an empty net. He beat Rask at 18:47 to push the action to the final seconds of the game.

Three Stars

David Krejci — Opened the scoring with a tip goal passed Miller and put the helped on the second with a zip pass to set up Recchi. He added the game-winner in the third to cap his three-point night.

Mark Recchi — The veteran forward registered his 75th career postseason assist in the first period and scored his third goal of the series in the second. The strike was the 53rd of his playoff career.

Milan Lucic — Got two big assists in the third period for his first playoff points of the year in the Bruins biggest game of the year.

Turning Point – Krejci’s second goal of the game gave the Bruins a cushion that would prove essential as Gerbe brought the Sabres back within a goal 22-seconds later. The puck was pushed from behind the goal line by Milan Lucic to Krejci on the elbow of Miller’s crease for the snap shot goal at 7:18. Gerbe’s goal was unassisted after taking the puck off the half wall and turning with a whipcord to go far side on Rask to keep the Sabres playoff hopes alive.

Key Play – Satan’s goal sealed it as he crashed the net to put a Dennis Wideman centering pass into the net at 14:41 of the third. Lucic had cleared the way for the puck as he passed through the crease moments before and deflected the pass slightly to earn the primary assist on the play, his second of the period.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/04/26/bruins-slam-the-door-on-the-sabres/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[2] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[3] Ryan Miller: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-miller.htm

[4] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[8] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[9] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[10] > Bruins slam the door on the Sabres" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/04/26/bruins-slam-the-door-on-the-sabres/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.