- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

1st Period summary: Bruins vs. Flyers Game 2

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 3, 2010 @ 7:53 pm In General | No Comments

This game already has a different feel than Game 1. Like Game 1 there were two goals in the opening period and the Bruins did take the lead. But the Flyers fought back to tie it, 1-1, at the first intermission.

Aside from generating a scrum and a shot on Brian Boucher [1] in the opening 15 seconds, the Bruins didn’t have nearly the jump or energy they had in Game 1. Shawn Thornton [2] made his series debut on a line with Steve Begin and Blake Wheeler [3] and immediately made his presence known by crashing the net.

Still, the Bruins managed to break the ice on a great combination of a face-off win by Boston’s best on the draw and a good shot through a heavy screen.

Patrice Bergeron [4] won his offensive zone draw cleanly to the right of the Flyers goalie and drew it back to Johnny Boychuk [5]. The young B’s blueliner, just above the circle, fired a quick wrister through a screen that Boucher didn’t see till it was behind him, beating the Flyers netminder to the short side at 5:12 even strength.

The Flyers responded with a screen-goal of their own when Mike Richards [6] pulled a Wayne Gretzky-esque move with puck behind Tuukka Rask [7]. Richards skated from the end line out to the left dot curled around and used a nice screen from Danny Briere to beat Rask with just 2:54 left in the opening period.

The Flyers were 0-for-2 on the power play but spent a lot more time in the Bruins zone than the opening period Saturday.

The Flyers also outshot the Bruins, 10-7, in the opening 20 minutes.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/03/1st-period-summary-bruins-vs-flyers-game-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brian Boucher: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-boucher.htm

[2] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[3] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[6] Mike Richards: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-richards.htm

[7] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[8] > 1st Period summary: Bruins vs. Flyers Game 2" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/03/1st-period-summary-bruins-vs-flyers-game-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.