- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Boychuk on D&H: Krejci ‘took a hit for the team’

Posted By Jerry Spar On May 6, 2010 @ 1:35 pm In General | No Comments

Bruins defenseman Johnny Boychuk [1] joined the Dale & Holley show Thursday afternoon to talk about the Bruins’ success in the Stanley Cup [2] playoffs. To hear the interview, click on the Dale & Holley audio on demand page [3]. Boychuck was asked if he felt capable of providing more offense to help make up for the loss of Marco Sturm [4] and David Krejci [5] to injuries. “I know I can do it for sure,” Boychuk said. “With those two guys out, everybody’s going to have to step up their game. I can’t really jump up in the rush at the wrong time, but when I see an opportunity to jump up in the rush, I’m going to make sure to do it and try to put the puck in the back of the net.”

On the hit from Flyers forward Mike Richards [6] that injured Krejci Wednesday night, Bochuk said: “It actually looked like a clean hit to me. It was unfortunate that Krejci got hurt on it, but he made a play and we scored a pivotal goal in the game last night. He took a hit for the team, and we made sure to capitalize when it happened.”

Boychuk took some heat from Sabres fans for his hit that injured forward Thomas Vanek in the first round, but Boychuck said he doesn’t care if he’s the bad guy in Buffalo. “I don’t even think it was a cheap shot,” he said. “It was just a hockey-instinct play. It wasn’t like I was trying to hurt him. But they had to point the finger at somebody, so they had to point it at me, I guess. I just take it as it is. If they want to point the finger for their loss at me, then go ahead. That’s fine by me. It won’t bother me at all, and I’ll just keep playing the way I am.”

On the contributions of veteran forward Mark Recchi [7], Boycuk said, “I think we have to check his birth certificate, because he sure doesn’t play like a [42]-year-old. He’s a great team leader, and he plays like he’s 25. Having him in the dressing room — just his presence in the dressing room helps our whole team out just by keep it calm, keeping it cool. He gets goals for us that we need and want.”

On goalie Tuukka Rask [8], Boychuck said, “He’s kind of like an ice man. Nothing really bothers him. He’s always focused and into the game. You can’t really get him off his game easy.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/06/boychuk-on-dh-krejci-took-a-hit-for-the-team/

URLs in this post:

[1] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Dale & Holley audio on demand page: http://audio.weei.com/weei/dale_and_holley.htm?resultType=media&media=audio

[4] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Mike Richards: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-richards.htm

[7] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[8] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[9] > Boychuk on D&H: Krejci ‘took a hit for the team’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/06/boychuk-on-dh-krejci-took-a-hit-for-the-team/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.