- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

First period summary: Bruins vs. Flyers – Game 4

Posted By Dan Rowinski On May 7, 2010 @ 7:50 pm In General | 2 Comments

PHILADELPHIA — The Wachovia Center [1] feels much more alive on Friday than it did on Wednesday for Game 3. The theme music from the Rocky music led the Flyers on to the ice (noticeably absent from Game 3) and a couple early Philadelphia chances got the crowd in the game.

Milan Lucic [2] took the first penalty of the game as the Flyers went on the power play for high sticking at 8:24. But, as it has been all series long, Philadelphia got the Rask treatment as he blocked both shots that were sent on him during the man-advantage and Boston continued its strong penalty kill that has not allowed a power play goal since Game 1 with 10 kills in the last two games into the the start of Game 4.

Boston got on the board first when Mark Recchi [3] added his fifth goal of the playoffs after Patrice Bergeron [4] got on a partial break set up by Dennis Wideman [5] and Daniel Paille [6] through the neutral zone. Bergeron had a weak shot on Brian Boucher [7] but the goaltender laid out and deflected the puck back into the slot with his stick where Recchi, following the play, flipped it to the top of the net at 15:37 for the third opening goal by the Bruins in the four games.

A dustup between Vladimir Sobotka, Scott Hartnell and Arron Asham in front of the Flyers bench at 18:04 sent Sobotka and Hartnell to the box for matching roughing penalties at 18:04. Philadelphia used the extra ice space to its advantage as Matt Carle came down the left wing on the rush rush and crossed the puck through the high slot to Claude Giroux who tapped it aside to Danny Briere who sent a wrist shot from the top of the dot on Rask that had eyes and the game was tied at one at 19:06.

The Bruins lead in the shot department heading into the second with a 10 to nine advantage.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/07/first-period-summary-bruins-vs-flyers-game-4/

URLs in this post:

[1] Wachovia Center: http://media.weei.com/basketball/wachovia-center.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[6] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[7] Brian Boucher: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-boucher.htm

[8] > First period summary: Bruins vs. Flyers – Game 4" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/07/first-period-summary-bruins-vs-flyers-game-4/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.