- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Notes: Game 7 by the numbers

Posted By Dan Rowinski On May 13, 2010 @ 3:48 pm In General | 1 Comment

WILMINGTON — The Bruins are about to play in their 19th Game 7 in team history on Friday night against the Flyers. It will be the 15th Game 7 on home ice and the second time they have been taken to a Game 7 after leading a series three games to none (1939 against the Rangers was the last time). It is the fourth time they have been taken to a Game 7 after holding a three games to one advantage (1939 Rangers, 1992 Sabres, 2004 Canadiens).

The Bruins hold a 9-9 record overall in Game 7s and are 9-5 at home. They are 2-2 when the game is decided in overtime, such as last season in the semifinals against Carolina. The Bruins have lost three straight Game 7s after winning their previous six and this will be the first time they face the Flyers in an ultimate game.

Coach Claude Julien [1] is 1-2 lifetime in Game 7s while Flyers coach Peter Laviolette [2] is 2-1. Julien’s lone win came over the Bruins when he was the coach of Montreal in 2004. Steve Begin (2-0), Mark Recchi [3] (4-3) and Dennis Seidenberg [4] (2-1) are the only Bruins players to have winning records in Game 7s while captain Zdeno Chara [5] is 0-4.

The Flyers will be playing their 14th Game 7 and their sixth on the road where they are 2-3 in their history. This is the first time they have forced a Game 7 after being down three games to none or one. Philadelphia is 7-6 all-time in ultimate games. Chris Pronger [6] has a 1-5 record in Game 7s, Simon Gagne is 1-2 and Ian Lapiererre is 0-3.

Thursday quote — From Brad Marchand [7], who wore a grey practice sweater and may be in the game for the Bruins tomorrow night:

“It is definitely harder watching. You want to go out and help as much as you can. I would be very happy, very excited. I have been staying in shape and stuff and if I get the call, I will be ready,” Marchand said.

Marchand was asked if he could play the pesky, instigating role that he showed at times during the regular season.

“Well, you know, it is always part of the playoffs. The trouble with that is that sometimes you get dumb penalties and I know that is something we want to stay away from. We kind of let them do that and not focus on that tomorrow. We just want to play our game and if we do that we will be better off,” Marchand said.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/13/notes-game-7-by-the-numbers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Peter Laviolette: http://media.weei.com/hockey/peter-laviolette.htm

[3] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[4] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Chris Pronger: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-pronger.htm

[7] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[8] > Notes: Game 7 by the numbers" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/13/notes-game-7-by-the-numbers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.