- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Ward on D&H: ‘Boston’s on the upswing’

Posted By Jerry Spar On May 18, 2010 @ 12:54 pm In General | 1 Comment

Former Bruin Aaron Ward [1], who is serving as an analyst for NHL [2] coverage on Versus, joined the Dale & Holley show Tuesday to talk about the Stanley Cup [3] playoffs. To hear the interview, click on the Dale & Holley audio on demand page [4].

Ward said the Bruins were in a difficult situation in their series vs. the Flyers. “It’s tough to overcome the loss of your two top scorers in Marco Sturm [5] and David Krejci [6]. And then couple that with Philadelphia getting back Simon Gagne. That’s a tough one to deal with,” said Ward, who finished this season with the Anaheim Ducks [7].

Ward said Bruins fans can take solace in the fact that the future is bright for this team. “Boston’s on the upswing. They’ve got a great situation now with the draft, they’ve got a great situation where they have a lot of key, young guys that have that experience in the playoffs, regular season, that familiarity with the city. And it means a lot to a team to where you can start forming some sort of consistency and looking toward becoming a dynasty.”

Ward, who said he would return to Boston “in a heartbeat,” defended the leadership of Bruins captain Zdeno Chara [8], saying: “He possess every intangible. … He knows when to say something and when not to.”

Ward was traded by the Bruins last offseason to the Hurricanes [9]. There he became teammates with Scott Walker [10], who sucker-punched Ward in the face during their playoff series last season. Ward said it didn’t take long to put hard feelings aside. “The first phone call from a player [after the trade was finalized] was Scott Walker,” Ward said. “That was pretty easy to deal with, because we aired it out right there, put it right on the table, and there was no issue. We’re big boys. One of the things I found out right after that punch was that Scott’s wife had cervical cancer, and that was the day he found out. So, you know what, there’s times in the game as a player, as a human, you figure out you’ve got to cut him some slack because you never know what kind of frame of mind you’d be in in that situation.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/18/ward-on-dh-bostons-on-the-upswing/

URLs in this post:

[1] Aaron Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward.htm

[2] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[3] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[4] Dale & Holley audio on demand page: http://audio.weei.com/weei/dale_and_holley.htm?resultType=media&media=audio

[5] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[6] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[7] Anaheim Ducks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/anaheim-ducks.htm

[8] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[9] Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-ward-hockey.htm

[10] Scott Walker: http://media.weei.com/hockey/scott-walker.htm

[11] > Ward on D&H: ‘Boston’s on the upswing’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/05/18/ward-on-dh-bostons-on-the-upswing/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.