- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Chiarelli on Horton, draft, free agents

Posted By DJ Bean On June 23, 2010 @ 3:31 pm In General | 4 Comments

It was a foregone conclusion that this week was going to be gigantic for the Bruins in some way, shape, or form, and with two days to go until the NHL [1] draft, Peter Chiarelli and co. got a head start on making headlines by flipping the 15th overall pick and defenseman Dennis Wideman [2] to the Florida Panthers [3] in exchange for right winger Nathan Horton [4] and center Gregory Campbell [5].

As the draft grows nearer and the Bruins come closer to finally making the second overall selection after months of buildup, the team that finished the regular season last in the NHL [6] goals suddenly appears to be in very good shape to have a notably upgraded scoring force. From how Chiarelli spoke, that may start with Horton.

“He’s tremendous shooter, Nathan. He’s a big body, he can skate, he can play physical. There’s a lot of things to like about him, and we’re going to be getting a highly skilled forward with the No. 2 pick with some speed.

“We thing at the end of the day, if we do nothing else to our forwards, we’re adding an established big power-forward shooter and a real speedy young legs skill guy. We’re happy with that.”

On the subject of the embattled Wideman, Chiarelli called the team’s playoff points leader last year a “key part of our defense that we had to give up.” In making the trade, however, the Bruins were able to shake things up offensively without disturbing the core of the team.

“It wasn’t about changing the culture,” Chiarelli said. “It was just about changing the makeup of the team after the ups and downs. I am relatively happy with the room and the personalities in it. It was more of the makeups, [or] semantics maybe.”

Even with Wideman gone and the shot at Cam Fowler seemingly out the window, Chiarelli said adding another defenseman was “not a pressing urgency” and that though the team likes puck-moving defensemen, whichever defender(s) may be added won’t necessarily fit that mold.

“If we do add something, it may not be purely what you’d characterize as a ‘puck mover,’” Chiarelli said.

Chiarelli once again reiterated that if a deal does happen with Edmonton in order to secure whomever the Bruins prefer between Taylor Hall [7] and Tyler Seguin [8] (they do hold one in slightly higher regard), the actual picks are unlikely to be swapped, and the Oilers would simply take the other player first overall.

Should they stay put, they won’t face the pressure that is on the Oilers to take the right guy. Hall and Seguin have been hyped as equally elite superstars in the making. So would the Bruins dare invest heavily into what would ultimately be a very difficult choice between the two players?

“If you make an informed decision, I think ‘risk’ is a better word than ‘courage,’” Chiarelli said. “We put that into our equation. It may be that the price that I have to pay to do that is unattainable. I can’t meet it. I’m not at that point yet.

“These are things that we look at. We look at the risk involved, we look at the fit, we look at the kids, we brought both kids in. There’s a lot involved in making this decision.”

The only real news that came in the conference call involved the team’s free agents. Regarding restricted free agents, Chiarelli said he will give a qualifying offer to Campbell. The Bruins blog reported last week that Mark Stuart [9] and Blake Wheeler [10] had also received offers.

As for unrestricted free agents, Chiarelli said he has kept in contact with the agents for Mark Recchi [11] and Johnny Boychuk [12] but that he had nothing to report. The team has also told Steve Begin that they won’t be able to potentially negotiate with him until after free agency opens, as the team is “looking at other options.” Chiarelli has not yet spoken to anyone from Miroslav Satan.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/06/23/chiarelli-on-horton-draft-free-agents/

URLs in this post:

[1] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[2] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[3] Florida Panthers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/florida-panthers.htm

[4] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[5] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[6] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[7] Taylor Hall: http://media.weei.com/hockey/taylor-hall.htm

[8] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[9] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[10] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[11] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[12] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[13] > Chiarelli on Horton, draft, free agents" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/06/23/chiarelli-on-horton-draft-free-agents/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.