- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Top two picks in last 25 NHL drafts

Posted By Nick Bove On June 23, 2010 @ 8:28 am In General | 1 Comment

On Friday the Bruins will have the second pick in the 2010 NHL [1] Entry Draft, their highest pick since picking Joe Thornton [2] first overall in 1997. There have been rumors about the B’€™s trading the pick for more picks or possibly a star player, but the Bruins have emphatically denied any plans to give it away. With Tyler Seguin [3] and Taylor Hall [4] expected to go 1-2, it will be the biggest 1-2 punch since the Alex Ovechkin [5]-Evgeni Malkin combo of 2004.

The No 1 pick always is the solid, franchise-building player who can score the most, hit the best, skate the fastest or defend the best. He also can also easily wear the ‘C’ on his sweater within a few years of his debut because he can command respect. In the past, there have been famous No. 1 picks including Guy Lafleur, Denis Potvin, Mario Lemieux [6], Pierre Turgeon, Mike Modano, Mats Sundin, Eric Lindros, Joe Thornton, Vincent Lacavalier, Rick Nash [7], Alex Ovechkin, Sidney Crosby [8] and Patrick Kane.

Then, of course, there is the overlooked No. 2 pick in the draft. In many cases, this pick can also be a blessing for a team, just as good as a No. 1 pick, depending on the class. Some of the great No. 2s: Brendan Shanahan, Petr Nedved, Chris Pronger [9], Patrick Marleau, Dany Heatley [10], Jason Spezza, the Staal brothers, Evgeni Malkin and James van Riemsdyk.

Here’€™s a list of the past 25 top two picks in the NHL [11] draft.

2009

1. New York Islanders [12]: John Tavares, London (OHL)
2009-present: 82 games, 24 goals, 30 assists, 54 points, 22 PIM, -15 plus/minus
2. Tampa Bay Lightning [13]: Victor Hedman, Modo Ornskoldsvik (Elitserien)
2009-present: 74 games, 4 goals, 16 assists, 30 points, 79 PIM, -3 plus/minus

2008

1. Tampa Bay Lightning: Steven Stamkos, Sarnia (OHL)
2008-present: 161 games, 74 goals, 67 assists, 95 points, 77 PIM, -15 plus/minus
2. Los Angeles Kings [14]: Drew Doughty, Guelph (OHL)
2008-present: 163 games, 22 goals, 64 assists, 86 points, 110 PIM, +3 plus/minus

2007

1. Chicago Blackhawks [15]: Patrick Kane, London (OHL)
2007-present: 244 games, 76 goals, 154 assists, 230 points, 114 PIM, +9 plus/minus
2. Philadelphia Flyers [16]: James van Riemsdyk, US National Team
2009-present: 78 games, 15 goals, 19 assists, 34 points, 30 PIM, -1 plus/minus

2006

1. St. Louis Blues: Erik Johnson, U.S. National Team
2007-present: 148 games, 15 goals, 57 assists, 72 points, 107 PIM, -8 plus/minus
2. Pittsburgh Penguins [17]: Jordan Staal, Peterborough (OHL)
2006-present: 327 games, 84 goals, 84 assists, 168 points, 173 PIM, +35 plus/minus

2005

1. Pittsburgh Penguins: Sidney Crosby, Rimouski (QMJHL)
2005-present: 371 games, 183 goals, 323 assists, 506 points, 356 PIM, +45 plus/minus
2. Mighty Ducks of Anaheim: Bobby Ryan, Owen (OHL)
2007-present: 168 games, 71 goals, 60 assists, 131 points, 118 PIM, +21 plus/minus

2004

1. Washington Capitals [18]: Alexander Ovechkin, Moscow (RSL)
2005-present: 396 games, 269 goals, 260 assists, 529 points, 305 PIM, +64 plus/minus
2. Pittsburgh Penguins: Evgeni Malkin, Magnitogorsk (RSL)
2006-present: 209 games, 143 goals, 238 assists, 381 points, 338 PIM, +29 plus/minus

2003

1. Pittsburgh Penguins: Marc-Andre Fleury [19], Cape Breton (QMJHL)
2003-present: 302 games, 148 wins, 106 losses, 16 shutouts, 808 goals, 2.82 GAA, .907 SV%
2. Carolina Hurricanes [20]: Eric Staal, Peterborough (OHL)
2003-present: 479 games, 193 goals, 235 assists, 428 points, 357 PIM, -3 plus/minus

2002

1. Columbus Blue Jackets [21]: Rick Nash, London (OHL)
2002-present: 517 games, 227 goals, 195 assists, 422 points, 494 PIM, -54 plus/minus
2. Atlanta Thrashers [22]: Kari Lehtonen, Helsinki (SM-liiga)
2003-present: 216 games, 100 wins, 87 losses, 14 shutouts, 590 goals, 2.87 GAA, .912 SV%

2001

1. Atlanta Thrashers: Ilya Kovalchuk [23], Moscow (Rus-2)
2001-present: 621 games, 338 goals, 304 assists, 642 points, 437 PIM, -75 plus/minus
2. Ottawa Senators [24]: Jason Spezza, Windsor (OHL)
2002-present: 464 games, 171 goals, 304 assists, 475 points, 322 PIM, +73 plus/minus

2000

1. New York Islanders: Rick DiPietro, Boston University (NCAA [25])
2000-present: 281 games, 119 wins, 117 losses, 15 shutouts, 749 goals, 2,79 GAA, .905 SV%
2. Atlanta Thrashers: Dany Heatley, University of Wisconsin-Madison (NCAA [26])
2001-present: 589 games, 299 goals, 326 assists, 625 points, 510 PIM, +61 plus/minus

1999

1. Atlanta Thrashers: Patrik Stefan, Long Beach (IHL)
1999-2007: 455 games, 64 goals, 124 assists, 188 points, 158 PIM, -36 plus/minus
2. Vancouver Canucks [27]: Daniel Sedin, Modo (Elitserien)
2000-present: 705 games, 208 goals, 339 assists, 547 points, 292 PIM, +116 plus/minus

1998

1. Tampa Bay Lightning: Vincent Lecavalier, Rimouski (QMJHL)
1998-present: 869 games, 326 goals, 413 assists, 739 points, 624 PIM, -104 plus/minus
2. Nashville Predators [28]: David Legwand, Plymouth (OHL)
1998-present: 704 games, 152 goals, 255 assists, 407 points, 374 PIM, +17 plus/minus

1997

1. Boston Bruins [29]: Joe Thornton, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL)
1997-present: 915 games, 285 goals, 646 assists, 931 points, 885 PIM, +131 plus/minus
2. San Jose Sharks [30]: Patrick Marleau, Seattle (WHL)
1997-present: 953 games, 320 goals, 373 assists, 693 points, 325 PIM, +22 plus/minus

1996

1. Ottawa Senators: Chris Phillips, Prince Albert (WHL)
1997-present: 863 games, 59 goals, 169 assists, 228 points, 623 PIM, +108 plus/minus
2.  San Jose Sharks: Andrei Zyuzin, Ufa (RHL)
1997-2008: 496 games, 38 goals, 82 assists, 120 points, 446 PIM, -40 plus/minus

1995

1. Ottawa Senators: Bryan Berard, Detroit (OHL)
1996-2008: 619 games, 76 goals, 247 assists, 323 points, 500 PIM, -98 plus/minus
2. New York Islanders: Wade Redden, Brandon (WHL)
1996-present: 994 games, 106 goals, 344 assists, 450 points, 654 PIM, +162 plus/minus

1994

1. Florida Panthers [31]: Ed Jovanovski, Windsor (OHL)
1995-present: 969 games, 128 goals, 339 assists, 467 points, 1,382 PIM, -68 plus/minus
2. Mighty Ducks of Anaheim: Oleg Tverdovsky, Moscow (IHL)
1994-2007: 713 games, 77 goals, 240 assists, 317 points, 291 PIM, -21 plus/minus

1993

1. Ottawa Senators: Alexandre Daigle, Victoriaville (QMJHL)
1993-2006: 616 games, 129 goals, 198 assists, 327 points, 186 PIM, -176 plus/minus
2. Hartford Whalers: Chris Pronger, Peterborough (OHL)
1994-present: 1,104 games, 152 goals, 509 assists, 661 points, 1,536 PIM, +175 plus/minus

1992

1. Tampa Bay Lightning: Roman Hamrlik, Zlin (Czech Extraliga)
1992-present: 1,232 games, 148 goals, 442 assists, 590 poinst, 1,285 PIM, -62 plus/minus
2. Ottawa Senators: Alexi Yashin, Moscow (IHL)
1993-2007: 850 games, 337 goals, 444 assists, 781 points, 401 PIM, -83 plus/minus

1991

1. Québec Nordiques: Eric Lindros, Oshawa (OHL) (traded to Philadelphia)
1993-2007: 760 games, 372 goals, 493 assists, 865 points, 1,398 PIM, +215 plus/minus
2. San Jose Sharks: Pat Falloon, Spokane (WHL)
1991-2000: 575 games, 143 goals, 179 assists, 322 points, 141 PIM, -66 plus/minus

1990

1. Québec Nordiques: Owen Nolan, Cornwall (OHL)
1990-present: 1,200 games, 422 goals, 463 assists, 885 points, 1,793 PIM, -40 plus/minus
2. Vancouver Canucks: Petr Nedved, Seattle (WHL)
1991-2007: 982 games, 310 goals, 407 assists, 717 points, 708 PIM, -21 plus/minus

1989

1. Québec Nordiques: Mats Sundin, Nacka (Allsvenskan)
1990-2009: 1,346 games, 564 goals, 785 assists, 1,349 points, 1,093 PIM, +73 plus/minus
2. New York Islanders: Dave Chyzowski, Kamloops (WHL)
1989-1997: 126 games, 15 goals, 16 assists, 31 points, 144 PIM, -29 plus/minus

1988

1. Minnesota North Stars: Mike Modano, Price Albert (WHL)
1989-present: 1,459 games, 557 goals, 802 assists, 1,359 points, 922 PIM, +118 plus/minus
2. Vancouver Canucks: Trevor Linden, Medicine Hat (WHL)
1989-2008: 1,382 games, 375 goals, 492 assists, 867 points, 895 PIM, -64 plus/minus

1987

1. Buffalo Sabres [32]: Pierre Turgeon, Granby (QMJHL)
1988-2007: 1,294 games, 515 goals, 812 assists, 1,327 points, 452 PIM, +139 plus/minus
2. New Jersey Devils [33]: Brendan Shanahan, London (OHL)
1988-2009: 1,524 games, 656 goals, 698 assists, 1,354 points, 2,489 PIM, +151 plus/minus

1986

1. Detroit Red Wings [34]: Joe Murphy, Michigan State [35] (NCAA)
1986-2001: 779 games, 233 goals, 295 assists, 528 points, 810 PIM, +29 plus/minus
2. Los Angeles Kings: Jimmy Carson, Verdun (QMJHL)
1986-1996: 626 games, 275 goals, 286 assists, 561 points, 254 PIM, -20 plus/minus

1985

1. Toronto Maple Leafs [36]: Wendel Clark, Saskatoon (WHL)
1985-2000: 793 games, 330 goals, 234 assists, 564 points, 1,690 PIM, -129 plus/minus
2. Pittsburgh Penguins: Craig Simpson, Michigan State (NCAA)
1985-1995: 634 games, 247 goals, 250 assists, 497 points, 659 PIM, +5 plus/minus


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/06/23/top-two-picks-in-last-25-nhl-drafts/

URLs in this post:

[1] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[2] Joe Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/joe-thornton.htm

[3] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[4] Taylor Hall: http://media.weei.com/hockey/taylor-hall.htm

[5] Alex Ovechkin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/alex-ovechkin.htm

[6] Mario Lemieux: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mario-lemieux.htm

[7] Rick Nash: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rick-nash.htm

[8] Sidney Crosby: http://media.weei.com/hockey/sidney-crosby.htm

[9] Chris Pronger: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-pronger.htm

[10] Dany Heatley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dany-heatley.htm

[11] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[12] New York Islanders: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-york-islanders.htm

[13] Tampa Bay Lightning: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tampa-bay-lightning.htm

[14] Los Angeles Kings: http://media.weei.com/hockey/los-angeles-kings.htm

[15] Chicago Blackhawks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chicago-blackhawks.htm

[16] Philadelphia Flyers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/philadelphia-flyers.htm

[17] Pittsburgh Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[18] Washington Capitals: http://media.weei.com/hockey/washington-capitals.htm

[19] Marc-Andre Fleury: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-andre-fleury.htm

[20] Carolina Hurricanes: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carolina-hurricanes.htm

[21] Columbus Blue Jackets: http://media.weei.com/hockey/columbus-blue-jackets.htm

[22] Atlanta Thrashers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/atlanta-thrashers.htm

[23] Ilya Kovalchuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ilya-kovalchuk.htm

[24] Ottawa Senators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ottawa-senators.htm

[25] NCAA: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/ncaa.htm

[26] NCAA: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/colonial-athletic-association.htm

[27] Vancouver Canucks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/vancouver-canucks.htm

[28] Nashville Predators: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nashville-predators.htm

[29] Boston Bruins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/boston-bruins.htm

[30] San Jose Sharks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/san-jose-sharks.htm

[31] Florida Panthers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/florida-panthers.htm

[32] Buffalo Sabres: http://media.weei.com/hockey/buffalo-sabres.htm

[33] New Jersey Devils: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-jersey-devils.htm

[34] Detroit Red Wings: http://media.weei.com/hockey/detroit-red-wings.htm

[35] Michigan State: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/michigan-state-spartans.htm

[36] Toronto Maple Leafs: http://media.weei.com/hockey/toronto-maple-leafs.htm

[37] > Top two picks in last 25 NHL drafts" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/06/23/top-two-picks-in-last-25-nhl-drafts/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[38]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.