- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Neely: ‘We’re waiting like everyone else’

Posted By Graig Woodburn On June 24, 2010 @ 10:08 pm In General | 1 Comment

New Bruins president Cam Neely [1] was taking care of business at the NHL [2] Board of Governors meeting in Los Angeles on Thursday, but he now has to play a waiting game like everyone else.

While the Board of Governors approved a rule change providing a five-minute penalty for a blindside hit to the head ‘€” such as that which sidelined Bruins center Marc Savard [3] this season ‘€” Neely emerged from Thursday’€™s meeting focused on Friday’€™s draft in which the Bruins have the second overall pick.

The Edmonton Oilers [4] have the first pick in the draft, and with it the possibility of trading down if the player they would select is different than the player the Bruins want. Taylor Hall [5] and Tyler Seguin [6] are considered locks to be selected with the top two picks, but so far, the Oilers have not indicated which player they prefer.

There has been much speculation the Oilers plan to take Hall and the Bruins would then choose Seguin, but nothing is definite at this point.

‘€œEdmonton still hasn’€™t really said anything, so nothing is etched [in stone]. We’€™re still waiting like everyone else,’€ said Neely, who was named as the Bruins President on June 16.

Neely had attended Board of Governors meetings before, but was doing so his new capacity for the firs time on Thursday.

‘€œA lot of the stuff I’€™ve been doing has not really changed that much,’€ said Neely. ‘€œObviously, a little more responsibility now, which is OK. I’€™m looking forward to the challenge.’€

Among his first duties at the Board of Governors meeting was assessing the blindside hit rule approved Thursday.

‘€œThe one concern that I have is that it’€™s still going to be a tough rule to call,’€ Neely said. ‘€œI don’€™t know if you’€™re going to get everyone happy. That’€™s the problem.’€

In response to a question regarding the Matt Cooke [7] hit on Savard, which caused Savard to incur a significant concussion, Neely said that the hit would be illegal under the new rule, which he generally favors.

‘€œI think it’€™s going to be tough for the referee in that split second to really judge the call. Like all new rules, there’€™s going to be some questions,’€ he said. ‘€œAt least there is an attempt to get [hits to the head] out of the game. ‘€œ


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/06/24/neelywere-waiting-like-everyone-else/

URLs in this post:

[1] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[2] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] Edmonton Oilers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/edmonton-oilers.htm

[5] Taylor Hall: http://media.weei.com/hockey/taylor-hall.htm

[6] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[7] Matt Cooke: http://media.weei.com/hockey/matt-cooke.htm

[8] > Neely: ‘We’re waiting like everyone else’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/06/24/neelywere-waiting-like-everyone-else/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.