- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Will Bruins stick to status quo in net?

Posted By DJ Bean On July 2, 2010 @ 12:54 am In General | 5 Comments

Though Tim Thomas [1] rumors have been more or less overflowing from the internet this offseason — some feasible, some outrageous — Bruins general manager Peter Chiarelli is certainly speaking like a guy who wouldn’t feel it was the end of the world if he goes into next season with his No. 2 goalie making $5 million.

‘€œI’€™m comfortable with our goaltending duo,” Chiarelli said. “There will be an intense competition, that’€™s the way we had planned it and I’€™m comfortable with it. I’€™m not saying it’€™s going to end up that way, but I’€™m certainly comfortable if it is.’€

With the looks of free agency so far, it’s a good thing he’d be comfortable with it. With Marty Turco [2] and Evgeni Nabokov still on the open market, it’s hard to believe teams would rather trade for a guy who’s two years older and seemingly better-suited for a tandem.

Some may view it as a waste to keep the 36 year-old Thomas around at such a high price tag, but he undoubtedly adds security to a goaltending position that may be a bit overestimated due to solid play down the stretch from Tuukka Rask [3]. Thomas has the track-record of being able to play at a high level despite age and Rask hasn’t been the man for a full season yet.

The Bruins are in a tight spot regarding cap space, and though Thursday’s two-way deal given to old friend Jeremy Reich won’t be a back-breaker (he’ll get $500,000 if he’s on the NHL [4] club), the team has just $4,465,357 in cap space, with Tyler Seguin [5] set to seemingly get the entry-level maximum of $900,000 in salary (he’ll get more in bonuses) and deals still to be done for Blake Wheeler [6] and Mark Stuart [7].

Making all three deals happen may be tough given their current cap number and a contract may have to be moved around to make the signings a possibility, but don’t count on it being Thomas.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/02/will-bruins-stick-to-status-quo-in-net/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Marty Turco: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marty-turco.htm

[3] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[4] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[7] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[8] > Will Bruins stick to status quo in net?" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/02/will-bruins-stick-to-status-quo-in-net/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.