- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Chiarelli explains why he’s ‘standing pat’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On July 9, 2010 @ 6:57 pm In General | 6 Comments

WILMINGTON — Bruins general manager Peter Chiarelli emphasized in the days after his team’s shocking playoff loss to the Philadelphia Flyers [1] that he and management would not be doing anything rash when it comes to re-shaping the roster for 2010-11 season.

He reiterated that in the wake of re-signing defenseman Mark Stuart [2] – one of his team’s core leaders – to a one-year contract on Friday.

“Right now, we’re standing pat,” the GM said. “You look out here, there might be a few guys that challenge, too. I like our prospect depth. Right now, I’m going to be standing pat. That may change but right now, I’m standing pat.”

Chiarelli believes that with the core four of Zdeno Chara [3], Dennis Seidenberg [4], Stuart and Andrew Ference [5] coming back, the Bruins have the foundation of a solid blue line. He believes he can mix and match with Johnny Boychuk [6], Matt Hunwick and Adam McQuaid and top-level organizational prospects to have a solid D for next season.

Chiarelli pointed to one area of improvement he’d like to see in Stuart’s game – and the team’s for that matter – puck movement in the defensive and neutral zones.

“I go back to the five or six games where he had more minutes prior to the LA game and he was getting more confidence, moving the puck a little better,” Chiarelli said on Friday. “With Stewie sometimes, he freezes when he pushed the puck up after retrieving it. He’s getting better at it, he’s getting better at passing. So, a lot of that is a function of confidence and I think you’re going to see that with more minutes.”

Now, a priority for Chiarelli is signing his two players that have signed for arbitration, Blake Wheeler [7] and Gregory Campbell [8], the left winger acquired on June 22 with Nathan Horton [9] from Florida for defenseman Dennis Wideman [10]. Chiarelli also indicated that McQuaid, based on his contributions in the playoffs, has earned a shot at the big club next season.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/09/chiarelli-explains-why-hes-standing-pat/

URLs in this post:

[1] Philadelphia Flyers: http://media.weei.com/hockey/philadelphia-flyers.htm

[2] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[5] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[6] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[7] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[8] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[9] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[10] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[11] > Chiarelli explains why he’s ‘standing pat’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/09/chiarelli-explains-why-hes-standing-pat/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.