- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Report: Bruins, Campbell close

Posted By DJ Bean On July 14, 2010 @ 7:27 pm In General | 2 Comments

The Boston Globe is reporting that the Bruins are close to avoiding arbitration in at least one case. Center Gregory Campbell [1], whom the Bruins added last month in the Nathan Horton [2] trade with the Panthers, is inching close to signing a two-year deal, according to the report.

Kevin Paul Dupont writes that the deal is expected to bring Campbell an expected salary of between $1.1 million and $1.3 million, a raise from the $800,000 he earned last season. Should the Bruins give him such a deal, they’ll have nowhere near enough to sign Blake Wheeler [3], whose arbitration hearing is set for July 27, and second overall pick Tyler Seguin [4].

Campbell scored two goals and had 15 assists last season with the Panthers. He had 32 points the season before is considered a solid penalty killer. In parts of six seasons, all with Florida (though he played in just two games in 2003-2004), Campbell has totaled 85 points in 363 games.

Comcast Sportsnet first reported that the center and Bruins were close on a deal. Campbell is the son of NHL [5] disciplinarian Colin Campbell [6], who received a great deal of attention last season for taking no action against Matt Cooke [7] for his March 7 blindside hit to the head of Marc Savard [8].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/14/report-bruins-campbell-close/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[2] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[3] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[4] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Colin Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/colin-campbell-nhl.htm

[7] Matt Cooke: http://media.weei.com/hockey/matt-cooke.htm

[8] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[9] > Report: Bruins, Campbell close" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/14/report-bruins-campbell-close/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.