- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

A look at where the Bruins’ cap woes rank

Posted By DJ Bean On July 21, 2010 @ 2:00 am In General | 10 Comments

With all apologies to Tyler Seguin [1], Nathan Horton [2], and Cam Neely [3], the salary cap just may be the single topic that has dominated Bruins offseason discussion more so than anything else. This, of course, in an offseason that featured a team that came within a game of the Eastern Conference finals adding a wunderkind center, a high-scoring winger, and naming one of the franchise’s most popular players president.

But back to the cap. After all, fans will panic over the roster as long as the team doesn’t have sufficient room to sign forwards Seguin and Blake Wheeler [4]. According to CapGeek.com [5] (once again, if you don’t have it bookmarked you are not using a computer correctly), the Bruins (should defenseman Adam McQuaid play in Boston next year) have $12,229 in cap space with deals for Wheeler (whose arbitration date is set for July 27 and hasn’t made headway with the Bruins on a new deal) and Seguin (who will get a base salary of $900,000) still without contracts.

In most cases, when a rumor arises regarding Tim Thomas [6] ($5 million cap hit in each of the next three seasons) or Marc Savard [7] ($4.007 million in each of the next seven), the first thing that comes to mind is the Bruins finally having some breathing room as they float higher and higher towards the feared $59.4 million mark.

As we’ve written in this space before, don’t count on the B’s to take Marco Sturm [8]‘s long-term injury status as an excuse to head into the season over the cap. Though they will get relief, general manager Peter Chiarelli has already noted that the team would still have to sort out their cap situation prior to activating the winger anyway. Such a move would be a temporary solution, and though they could potentially showcase their high-priced players in an effort to raise their trade value, it’s just not a safe hand to play.

The Bruins aren’t the only team with such concerns, however. Though their cap situation has gotten considerable attention this offseason, other teams are in just as tight a spot (or worse). Here’s where the Bruins rank among those teams (all cap numbers as of Wednesday morning, courtesy of CapGeek.com).

TEAM                                                CAP SPACE                      PLAYERS ON ROSTER

Calgary Flames [9]                                   $650,000                                              22

BRUINS                                                $12,299                                                 20

Vancouver Canucks [10]                         -$358,333                                               23

Chicago Blackhawks [11]                       -$1,011,590                                            17

New Jersey Devils [12]*                          -$1,801,667                                            20

*Including 17-year contract to Ilya Kovalchuk [13], which has been rejected by the NHL [14] but could still be agreed to if revised.

Given the fact that the Bruins have 20 players potentially getting NHL [15] salaries (McQauid is on a two-way deal for the first year of his contract), they are close enough to a 22-man roster that their woes could be settled by only unloading one contract and signing Wheeler and Seguin with the money saved. Obviously, training camp will also have a lot to do with it, but numbers-wise, this works.

Whether or not it’s as simple as that remains to be seen. Chiarelli has long come with the reputation of being cap-savvy, so one would think the general manager has something up his sleeve. Either way, the Bruins may be a move away from solving their problems. The same can’t be said for the Blackhawks, who appear to be in the worst shape.

Not only have the defending Stanley Cup [16] champions made multiple deals — sending Dustin Byfuglien, Kris Versteeg, and restricted free agent Andrew Ladd packing — in the name of cost-cutting, but they are still more than $1 million over the cap and have only 17 players on their roster. All of this while goaltender Antti Niemmi still doesn’t have a contract.

The Bruins have it bad when it comes to the salary cap, and nobody will forget it until a resolution is reached. They are not alone, however, and they certainly aren’t the worst off.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/21/a-look-at-where-the-bruins-cap-woes-rank/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[2] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[3] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[4] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[5] CapGeek.com: http://bigbadblog.weei.comwww.capgeek.com

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[8] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[9] Calgary Flames: http://media.weei.com/hockey/calgary-flames.htm

[10] Vancouver Canucks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/vancouver-canucks.htm

[11] Chicago Blackhawks: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chicago-blackhawks.htm

[12] New Jersey Devils: http://media.weei.com/hockey/new-jersey-devils.htm

[13] Ilya Kovalchuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ilya-kovalchuk.htm

[14] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[15] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[16] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[17] > A look at where the Bruins’ cap woes rank" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/07/21/a-look-at-where-the-bruins-cap-woes-rank/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.