- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Neely among Lester Patrick award recipients

Posted By DJ Bean On September 2, 2010 @ 2:46 pm In General | 2 Comments

Bruins president Cam Neely [1] is one of four recipients of the Lester Patrick trophy for outstanding service to ice hockey the United States. Joining him are Boston College [2] coach Jerry York [3], Boston University’s Jack Parker [4], and American Hockey League president David Andrews.

The recipients of the award, which has been around since 1966 will be honored at a reception in Boston in late October.

Neely was named president of the Bruins on June 16. In 726 career games, he scored 395 goals with 299 assists for 694 points. He had 1,241 penalty minutes.

York and Parker have long been considered the elite among college coaches, winning four and three national championships, respectively. Parker was the most recent to do so when he led the Terriers past Miami of Ohio in a comeback victory in 2009.

Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/09/02/neely-among-lester-patrick-award-recipients/

URLs in this post:

[1] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[2] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[3] Jerry York: http://media.weei.com/hockey/jerry-york.htm

[4] Jack Parker: http://media.weei.com/hockey/jack-parker.htm

[5] > Neely among Lester Patrick award recipients" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/09/02/neely-among-lester-patrick-award-recipients/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[6]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.