- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bergeron, Bruins beat up on Price

Posted By DJ Bean On September 22, 2010 @ 10:14 pm In General | No Comments

Carey Price [1] was replaced halfway through the second period of the Bruins’ and Canadiens’ preseason opener, but that may have been too late. The Bruins scored four goals on the Habs’ netminder, two of which came from Patrice Bergeron [2], in a 4-2 victory at the Bell Centre [3]. The game featured a short-handed tally from each team, with Rask playing the entire game.

The first period featured the bulk of the Bruins’ scoring, as they went to the first intermission with a 3-0 lead. Nathan Horton [4], acquired in June in a trade with the Panthers, scored the Bruins’ first goal of the game, beating Habs’ goaltender Carey Price gloveside. The assists went to Matt Bartkowski and Ryan Spooner. Second overall pick Tyler Seguin [5] orchestrated a Johnny Boychuk [6] power play goal that also featured Bartkowski’s second assist, while Patrice Bergeron scored one of his two goals on the night at 15:20 of the period.

The Tyler Seguin – Patrice Bergeron – Mark Recchi [7] line that impressed during Monday’s black/white scrimmage made its debut in the second period. Blake Wheeler [8], who began the game on Seguin’s wing, was tried at center in the second period. Claude Julien [9] said Wednesday that the team’s plan was to get a look at Wheeler as a center, his position prior to joining the Bruins.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/09/22/bergeron-bruins-beat-up-on-price/

URLs in this post:

[1] Carey Price: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carey-price.htm

[2] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[3] Bell Centre: http://media.weei.com/hockey/bell-centre.htm

[4] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[7] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[8] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[9] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[10] > Bergeron, Bruins beat up on Price" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/09/22/bergeron-bruins-beat-up-on-price/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.