- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tyler Seguin scores two as Bruins take Belfast game, 5-1

Posted By DJ Bean On October 2, 2010 @ 4:13 pm In General | 1 Comment

BELFAST — The Bruins got some huge cheers from the Odyssey Arena Saturday night, but after the Belfast Giants [1] took a 1-0 lead on them in the second period, the team made it clear they would end their Northern Ireland trip with more than just fanfare.

Tyler Seguin [2], Zdeno Chara [3], and Brad Marchand [4] all scored over the space of a minute following the Giants’ goal, their lone tally off of Bruins netminder Tuukka Rask [5]. Milan Lucic [6] added one of his own in the third, with Seguin tacking on another on a penalty shot to give the Bruins a 5-1 lead that they would hold for the rest of the game.

The game featured no fights, though Shawn Thornton [7], who has received plenty of attention given his mother’s return to Belfast (her place of birth) did pick up two assists for the Bruins.

From Belfast the Bruins will travel to the Czech Republic, where they will play first three games. They’ll have an exhibition game in Liberec on Oct. 5 before opening the regular season with two games against the Coyotes in Prague on Oct. 9 and 10.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/02/tyler-seguin-scores-two-as-bruins-take-belfast-game-5-1/

URLs in this post:

[1] Giants: http://media.weei.com/baseball/san-francisco-giants.htm

[2] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[5] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[8] > Tyler Seguin scores two as Bruins take Belfast game, 5-1" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/02/tyler-seguin-scores-two-as-bruins-take-belfast-game-5-1/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.