- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins lose opener, 5-2

Posted By DJ Bean On October 9, 2010 @ 2:38 pm In General | 7 Comments

PRAGUE — The Bruins are, quite clearly, one of the NHL’s elite teams on paper. They did everything they could for the first two periods of Saturday’s season-opener to suggest otherwise, and the glimpses of promise they did show in the third period proved to be too little, too late. The team showed all sorts of offensive and defensive weaknesses as they dropped the opener in Prague, 5-2, to the Coyotes.

Though he did allow four goals in the game, Tuukka Rask [1] didn’t exactly struggle, as one of Phoenix’ goals came on the flukiest of plays and another came on a breakaway caused by a Daniel Paille [2] gaffe.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– Matt Hunwick. To those on twitter during the game, the poor guy was the subject of about 80 percent of the tweets from either Bruins or fans, and for good reason. Beginning the game paired with Dennis Seidenberg [3], Hunwick was on the ice for all of the Coyotes’ first three tallies of the game, giving him a headstart on a terrible plus/minus.

Claude Julien [4] tried to stop the bleeding by breaking up the Seidenberg/Hunwick pairing by switching out Hunwick for Mark Stuart [5]. Even so, Seidenberg finished the game with a minus-two.

– General sloppy play was the norm from the Bruins in all three areas on Saturday. Players up and down the roster, from Hunwick, to Blake Wheeler [6], to Paille, to newly re-signed captain Zdeno Chara [7], killed chances at offensive opportunities by either squandering the puck or holding onto it too long.

– The power play was unproductive, but when a team gets shut out it’s to be expected that they didn’t produce on the man advantage. At any rate, the team went 0-3 on the power play through the first two periods (they’d later get Nathan Horton’s second goal of the game on a man advantage in the third) and gave up a couple of real scoring opportunities to the shorthanded Coyotes.

The team, as is well documented, was the worst in the league when it came to burying the biscuit (2.39 goals per game), and their power play wasn’t much better. The Bruins finished the season with a 16.6 power play percentage, good for 23rd in the NHL. The additions of Seguin and Horton should improve both categories, but there wasn’t much from the team on the night to suggest it.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– These are going to be a bit redundant because Nathan Horton [8] was so clearly the Bruins’ most valuable player for the Bruins on Saturday. Here’s the separate one dedicated just to Horton: He can’t be beat from in front of the net. He missed early on in the game by firing one wide at the gloveside of Ilya Bryzgalov, but beat the Phoenix goaltender with his lethal wrist shot on the next two chances. He tried to downplay the possibility of him being a 40-goal-scorer this year, but he’s the complete package.

– The first line showed what it’s made of. In addition to Milan Lucic’s physicality and David Krejci’s craftiness (he embarrassed Adrian Aucoin early in the third period at the blueline with a move that dropped the defenseman to the ice based on pure confusion), but Nathan Horton was allowed to do what he does best: fire off a wrister from the hashmark. Lucic hit him from behind the net to set up the team’s only goal of the game at 3:33 of the game.

Gregory Campbell [9] is going to be a difficult player for Bruins fans not to like. Following Horton’s first goal, he gave the Bruins a little more momentum in the third period by dropping the gloves with Coyotes center Vernon Fiddler. He took a bad slashing penalty with less than 10 minutes to go and his team trailing by two, but aside from that he came as advertised — a solid bottom-six forward who despite not having major strengths, has no major weaknesses.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/09/bruins-lose-opener-5-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[2] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[3] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[4] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[5] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[6] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[9] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[10] > Bruins lose opener, 5-2" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/09/bruins-lose-opener-5-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.