- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Thomas starting, lines shuffled for Bruins

Posted By DJ Bean On October 10, 2010 @ 8:40 am In General | 1 Comment

PRAGUE — A night after the Bruins lost their season-opening game in Prague to the Coyotes, 5-2, Claude Julien [1] said that Tim Thomas [2] would be starting in goal for Boston on Sunday. Tuukka Rask [3] allowed four goals to Phoenix in Saturday’s losing effort, though one came from a flukey bounce off the boards and another came on a breakaway caused by a Daniel Paille [4] turnover. Julien indicated that the team’s plan was to start Thomas in the second game anyway barring an overwhelming effort from Rask.

Additionally, Mark Recchi [5] stated prior to the game that he would be playing on the third line with second overall pick Tyler Seguin [6] and Michael Ryder [7]. Daniel Paille and Adam McQuaid are the healthy scratches.

Recchi had played on Patrice Bergeron’s line, which at one point included Seguin, throughout camp and the preseason. Rookie Jordan Caron, another former member of the second line in preseason, will return to skating with Bergeron after being scratched in the opener. Blake Wheeler [8] will remain the second line’s other wing.

The defensive pairings remain unknown entering the game, though it’s worth noting that they were changed during Saturday’s game, with the Dennis Seidenberg-Matt Hunwick pairing dooming the team early on and eventually being separated.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/10/thomas-starting-lines-shuffled-for-bruins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[7] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[8] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[9] > Thomas starting, lines shuffled for Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/10/thomas-starting-lines-shuffled-for-bruins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.