- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins and Devils scoreless after one

Posted By DJ Bean On October 16, 2010 @ 7:40 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins and Devils both treaded water in the first period of what one would expect to be a low-shooting and low-scoring game. As such, the shots are 11-8 in favor of the Devils in a scoreless game.

The Devils were comically clumsy in the offensive zone, but that’s not to say that they didn’t have their chances. Tim Thomas [1] twice had to make sprawling savesĀ reminiscentĀ of his Vezina days to keep it scoreless.

The Bruins took three penalties in the period, with Blake Wheeler [2] (holding) and Brad Marchand [3] (kneeing) penalties overlapping for a period-ending 5-on-3. Marchand was called for a questionable knee-on-knee hit on Dainius Zubrus. The Bruins went 0-for-1 on the power play, with a Tyler Seguin [4] wrister off the glove of Martin Brodeur [5] perhaps the closest they came to getting on the board.

David Krejci [6] and Michael Ryder [7] had two goals apiece in the first period, with Andrew Ference [8] batting at a floating rebound from a Krejci shot and unable to make solid contact.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/16/bruins-and-devils-scoreless-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[3] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[4] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[5] Martin Brodeur: http://media.weei.com/hockey/martin-brodeur.htm

[6] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[7] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[8] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[9] > Bruins and Devils scoreless after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/16/bruins-and-devils-scoreless-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.