- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins trail Rangers, 2-1, after one

Posted By DJ Bean On October 23, 2010 @ 7:53 pm In General | 2 Comments

Tuukka Rask [1] hasn’t had the luckiest first period, but a Zdeno Chara [2] goal with five seconds left in the first has the B’s within one tally of the Rangers after a period of play.

Artem Anisimov picked up his third goal of the season, a power play tally at 11:34 to give the Rangers their initial lead. The play was reviewed, as Anisimov waved at a Rask rebound that was right around crossbar level. Alex Frolov scored his second of the season shortly thereafter on a waffling puck that fooled Rask, and 12:01.

The Bruins and Rangers did plenty of fighting in the first period, as Mark Stuart [3] found himself tangoing with Sean Avery [4] after hitting Ruslan Fedetenko up high at the blue line. Following the second of the Rangers’ goals, Shawn Thornton [5] tried to inject a bit of energy into his team and the Garden crowd by squaring off with Derek Boogaard in a dance that brought Thornton’s career penalty minutes past the 500 mark. He now has 503 penalty minutes in his career. Milan Lucic [6] and Brandon Prust provided the rest of the period’s fighting.

Just a minute and 13 seconds after the Stuart/Avery fight in which Avery took a two-minute instigating minor, Johnny Boychuk [7] found himself on the tough end of a pretty hearty slash from Brandon Dubinsky. The B’s weren’t able to capitalize on a 47-second 5-on-3, but were later given the crack at another one that will cary ore to the second thanks to penalties to Michal Rozsival and and Marc Staal at 18:34 and 18:39, respectively. Chara scored his second power-play goal in as many games with 55 seconds remaining.

A couple of notes health-wise for the B’s: Boychuck left the ice briefly following the Dubinsky slash, but returned to the ice within minutes. Gregory Campbell [8] was also dinged up a bit, as he was struck by a shot more than halfway through the first and wasn’t spotted on the ice for the rest of the period.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/23/bruins-trail-rangers-2-1-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[4] Sean Avery: http://media.weei.com/hockey/sean-avery.htm

[5] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[8] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[9] > Bruins trail Rangers, 2-1, after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/23/bruins-trail-rangers-2-1-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.