- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Nathan Horton scores, but Bruins still trail Rangers heading into third period

Posted By DJ Bean On October 23, 2010 @ 8:42 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins and Rangers each added a goal in the second period, and for the second straight period the B’s find themselves down by one as they head to the locker room with a bit of momentum.

The Rangers are the most recent team to disobey the “Don’t let Nathan Horton’s skate touch the hashmarks” rule, and as a result the goal-scoring winger now has five on the season. Horton’s goal, his second point of the day, was set up by David Krejci [1] on a pass between his legs and Dennis Seidenberg [2], who picked up his 100th career assist.

The 5-on-3 on which the Bruins go a power-play goal from Chara in the first proved to be as big a curse as it was a blessing. When Marc Staal’s penalty expired less than a minute in, he raced out of the box and found Mark Recchi [3] and Ryan Callahan [4] battling for a puck at the bleu line. Once he scooped up the loose puck, he was off to the races, beating Tuukka Rask [5] on a breakaway at 0:48 and making it a two-goal lead once again for the Rangers.

Gregory Campbell [6] returned to the ice in the second period after getting hit buy a shot in the first. He also returned to another familiar place in the penalty box by picking up a minor for slashing. He added a double-minor for high-sticking Brandon Prust at 19:30. He leads the Bruins in penalty minutes this season with 24.

Through two periods, the Bruins are outshooting the Rangers, 27-18. They’ll begin the third down a man, as 3:30 remains on Campbell’s penalty.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/23/nathan-horton-scores-but-bruins-still-trail-rangers-heading-into-third-period/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[3] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[4] Ryan Callahan: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-callahan.htm

[5] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[6] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[7] > Nathan Horton scores, but Bruins still trail Rangers heading into third period" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/23/nathan-horton-scores-but-bruins-still-trail-rangers-heading-into-third-period/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.