- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Patrice Bergeron has Bruins leading Maple Leafs after one

Posted By DJ Bean On October 28, 2010 @ 8:03 pm In General | 1 Comment

After an awesome ceremony to honor the 92-years-young Milt Schmidt, the Bruins and Leafs skated to a competitive first period, with the B’s jumping out to a 1-0 lead thanks to Patrice Bergeron [1]‘s first goal of the season. Bergeron picked up the goal, a power play tally, on a slap shot off Jonas Gustavsson, at 19:19. The goal was the 100th of Bergeron’s career.

- Phil Kessel [2] predictably was booed heavily by the Garden crowd, though he certainly expected it coming in [3].

- The Bruins tinkered with the defensive pairings they openedĀ theĀ game with, as Matt Hunwick saw time with Dennis Seidenberg [4] (remember the season-opener?) and Andrew Ference [5] skated alongside Mark Stuart [6].

- Tim Thomas [7] stopped all eight shots he faced, and got some help when a Luca Caputi shot rang off the right post.

And now for a D2: The Mighty Ducks are Back reference:

Move over, Dwayne Robertston: Brad Marchand [8] laughs at your two minutes for roping. The B’s fourth-line winger took the always interesting two-minute minor for “shooting a stick to a teammate” at 8:46. As rule 10.3 states, “a player will be penalized if he throws, tosses, slides, or shoots a stick to a teammate on the ice. … A minor penalty shall be imposed for an infraction of this rule.”

The audience let out a collective laugh of confusion at the penalty’s announcement, but the B’s were able to kill off each of the two penalites on the period. Mark Stuart went off for interference at 1:03.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/28/patrice-bergeron-has-bruins-leading-maple-leafs-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[3] expected it coming in: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/28/phil-kessel-says-he-doesnt-want-to-stick-it-to-bruins/

[4] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[5] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[6] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[7] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[8] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[9] > Patrice Bergeron has Bruins leading Maple Leafs after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/28/patrice-bergeron-has-bruins-leading-maple-leafs-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.