- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins leading Senators, 1-0, after one

Posted By DJ Bean On October 30, 2010 @ 7:51 pm In General | No Comments

David Krejci [1] got the Bruins on the board in the first period when he picked off a Chris Phillips pass near the top of the circle and beat Brian Elliott with a wrist shot. The B’s killed two penalties and Tim Thomas [2] made 12 saves as the Bruins head to the locker room up 1-0 after one in Ottawa.

– The second and third lines saw some shuffling for the second time this season. Midway through the period, Claude Julien [3] changed the lines to their season-opening form, placing Mark Recchi [4] back with Patrice Bergeron [5] and Jordan Caron, and bumping Blake Wheeler [6] back to the third line with Tyler Seguin [7].

The switch nearly paid dividends on the scoreboard, as Ryder had a nice pass to Wheeler in front of the net. Wheeler was stuffed by Elliott and a scrum ensued as he went for the rebound.

– The jerk store called, and they’re running out of Jarkko Ruutu. The Sens forward held onto Gregory Campbell’s stick as he went for a change and drew a penalty when Campbell shoved him.

Brad Marchand [8] made a nifty move to evade Senators defenseman Matt Carkner but was stopped by Elliott in the first period. Shawn Thornton [9] later came close to connecting with Marchand on a long pass, but Marchand couldn’t handle it. With the surprising bit of offensive punch the fourth line has shown, it’s hard not think that career goal No. 1 could be right around the corner for Marchand.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/30/bruins-leading-senators-1-0-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[4] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[5] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[6] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[7] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[8] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[9] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[10] > Bruins leading Senators, 1-0, after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/10/30/bruins-leading-senators-1-0-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.