- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Shorthanded goals, Blake Wheeler have Bruins leading Sabres after one

Posted By DJ Bean On November 3, 2010 @ 7:42 pm In General | 2 Comments

A pair of shorthanded goals, an even-strength goal from Blake Wheeler [1] and another shutout period from Tim Tomas has the Bruins leading the struggling Sabres, 3-0 after one period in Buffalo.

Brad Marchand [2] got the party started with Michael Ryder [3] in the box, hopping onto the ice on the penalty and racing to Jhonas Enroth’s net for a breakaway tally at 3:32, the first goal of his NHL [4] career.

Later in the period, Marchand and Gregory Campbell [5] piled on more shorthanded pressure with Dennis Seidenberg [6] in the bin for holding, and the play resulted in Patrice Bergeron’s second goal of the season. Wheeler later added an even strength tally, his first of the season, thanks to a nice pass from behind the net from new linemate Michael Ryder.

Tim Thomas [7] saved all nine shots the Sabres had on him.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/11/03/shorthanded-goals-blake-wheeler-has-bruins-leading-sabres-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[2] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[3] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[4] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[5] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[6] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[7] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[8] > Shorthanded goals, Blake Wheeler have Bruins leading Sabres after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/11/03/shorthanded-goals-blake-wheeler-has-bruins-leading-sabres-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.