- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins lead Panthers after one

Posted By DJ Bean On November 18, 2010 @ 7:42 pm In General | No Comments

Milan Lucic [1] scored his eighth goal of the season at 15:37 of the first period, and it’s a 1-0 Bruins lead after 20 minutes.

Nathan Horton [2] dropped it for Lucic at the face-off circle, and Lucic took it from there, beating Tomas Vokoun top shelf. Patrice Bergeron [3] also picked up an assist on the play.

The Panthers came awfully close twice in the middle of the period, with a David Booth shot trickling off Rask’s glove but falling wide of the net, and Jason Garrison firing one that hit the post. Later in the period, Booth took a pass in front from Rostislav Olesz, with Rask getting in position and making a fantastic save.

Shawn Thornton [4] and Darcy Hordichuk provided the fighting for the period, squaring off at 16:31 in a twist that left Thornton with a bloody nose. The lone injury scare of the period when Patrice Bergeron took a Dennis Wideman [5] shot off the foot, but he returned to the ice.

Florida is outshooting the Bruins, 16-11. The Panthers are 0-for-1 on the power play, with 13.2 seconds remaining on a high sticking on a high stick call on on Blake Wheeler [6].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/11/18/bruins-lead-panthers-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[2] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[5] Dennis Wideman: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-wideman.htm

[6] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[7] > Bruins lead Panthers after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/11/18/bruins-lead-panthers-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.