- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Hurricanes lead Bruins, 1-0, after one

Posted By DJ Bean On November 26, 2010 @ 12:42 pm In General | No Comments

After a botched play in the neutral zone while shorthanded and a Daniel Paille [1] turnover, the Hurricanes had no difficulty regaining possession and setting up Jeff Skinner’s seventh goal of the season, to make it 1-0 after a period of play.

Skinner was chosen seventh overall in June’s draft and leads all rookies in scoring.

Nathan Horton [2] had perhaps the best scoring opportunity of the period, as he gathered a Zdeno Chara [3] shot off the boards, but was unable to put it past Ward, who was caught out of position. The Hurricanes goaltender came up big on a number of other plays, notably a high blast from Andrew Ference [4] through traffic and stops on point-blank wristers from Milan Lucic [5] and Michael Ryder [6].

Tim Thomas [7] wasn’t quite as busy, as he saw only six shots in the period. The goal came with 15.8 seconds left in the period, and in the midst of a power play caused by a Blake Wheeler [8] holding call. The B’s put 12 on Ward.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/11/26/hurricanes-lead-bruins-1-0-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[2] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[5] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[8] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[9] > Hurricanes lead Bruins, 1-0, after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/11/26/hurricanes-lead-bruins-1-0-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.