- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins lead Flyers, 2-0, after one

Posted By DJ Bean On December 1, 2010 @ 7:46 pm In General | No Comments

Patrice Bergeron [1] did something the Bruins haven’t exactly done a lot lately: scored the first goal of the game. After 20 minutes, the Bruins hold a 2-0 lead over the Flyers.

Milan Lucic [2] did some fancy weaving through a couple of defenders in front, only to get stopped by Sergei Bobrovsky. Old friend Seaon O’Donnell’s attempt at clearing the puck out left more to be desired, as he simply fired it to Patrice Bergeron, who quickly shot it high and into the net. It was the first time since Nov. 18 against the Panthers that the Bruins notched the game’s first tally.

The Bruins have not lost this season after scoring the first goal. It was Bergeron’s fourth goal of the season. Three of his goals have now come on the power play.

Tyler Seguin [3] added his fifth goal of the season thanks to a tough pass from Michael Ryder [4] on a 2-on-1. With Bobrovsky’s positioning forcing Seguin to beat him high, the rookie did just that, going top shelf to make it a 2-0 game.

Shawn Thornton [5] and Jody Shelley danced in the period’s only fight. The Bruins were 1-for-1 on the power play, while the Flyers will still have 10 seconds remaining on their third power play when the second period opens.

Tim Thomas [6] has stopped all 14 shots he’s seen, while Bobrovsky has allowed a pair of goals on 10 shots.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/01/bruins-lead-flyers-2-0-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[4] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[5] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] > Bruins lead Flyers, 2-0, after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/01/bruins-lead-flyers-2-0-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.