- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins lead Sabres after one period

Posted By DJ Bean On December 7, 2010 @ 8:15 pm In General | No Comments

Ryan Miller [1] had his career-high shutout streak of 161:35 snapped when he let a Milan Lucic [2] shot from the right circle sneak behind the left post. As a result, the B’s are leading the Sabres, 1-0, after 20 minutes of play at TD Garden.

– The Michael Ryder [3]Marc Savard [4]Tyler Seguin [5] line has gotten its chances, but sloppiness has been the demise of their opportunities. Seguin couldn’t catch two of Savard’s passes, and when the rookie hit Ryder on a 3-on-2 in which Miller was focused on Savard, Ryder missed the net.

Shawn Thornton took an Andrew Ference [6] shot off the right hand/wrist area in front of the net. After a brief trip down the tunnel, Thornton returned to bench and later returned to the ice.

Tim Thomas [7] has been sharp, as he stuck a leg out to stone former Boston College [8] center Nathan Gerbe and later nearly chased Tyler Ennis around the net to squash a scoring bid.

– Former Bruin Steve Montador did the twist with Johnny Boychuk [9] at 14:04, the only fight of the period. Montador got a roughing minor in addition to his fighting major, with the B’s failing to convert on their only power play. The Sabres have yet to go on the man advantage.

– The Bruins are outshooting the Sabres, 11-8.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/07/bruins-lead-sabres-after-one-period/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ryan Miller: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-miller.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[4] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[7] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[8] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[9] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[10] > Bruins lead Sabres after one period" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/07/bruins-lead-sabres-after-one-period/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.